7 collect nomination forms from AL, none from BNP

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:31, Feb 14,2020


Seven aspirants from ruling Awami League have collected party nomination form to contest by-election to Dhaka 10 constituency until Thursday while none from opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party collected nomination form for the constituency on the day, the first day of the party’s distribution of nomination form.

The AL started distribution of party nomination forms on Saturday at AL president’s Dhanmondi office and it would continue until today and BNP began to distribute the forms on Thursday at the party central office at Naya Paltan in Dhaka and would continue for two more days.

The AL aspirants who collected party nomination forms include former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industries Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin and former Chattra League leader Dr Abdul Wadud.

The by-election to Dhaka 10 as well as Jashore 6 and Gaibandha 3 constituencies will be held on March 21. The last date of submission of the nomination forms to the Election Commission is February 19.

AL office secretary Biplob Barua said that a meeting of AL nomination board led by AL president Sheikh Hasina will be held on Saturday to select the candidates for by-polls to all the constituencies.

Dr Wadud, an aspirant of AL from Dhaka 10 constituency, hoped that the party would choose him for vying the by-polls as he was a leader of Bangladesh Chhatra League and was always involved in movements in AL politics.

Muktijodhdhha Oikya Mancha president Ruhul Amin Majumder collected the party nomination form for Dr Wadud, also a researcher and wildlife expert, on Thursday.

BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi told New Age that they would select the candidates for the by polls in the next meeting of the party’s standing committee.

Dhaka 10 constituency fell vacant after Awami League member of parliament Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29, 2019 to contest in the Dhaka South City Corporation election while Gaibandha 3 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP M Yunus Ali Sarker on December 27, 2019 and Bagerhat 4 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Mozammel Hossain on January 10.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email