By-Polls to 5 Constituencies

32 collect Aawami League nomination forms

Staff Correspondent | Published: 23:40, Feb 11,2020 | Updated: 23:42, Feb 11,2020


A total of 32 prospective candidates collected party forms until Tuesday to be nominated by the Awami League to vie for byelections to five parliamentary constituencies.

The constituencies are Dhaka-10, Bogura-1, Bagerhat-4, Jashore-6 and Gaibandha-3.

Former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industries Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin collected form to contest Dhaka-10 constituency.

On February 5, the Election Commission announced the schedule for by-polls to Dhaka-10, Jashore-6 and Gaibandha-3 seats fixing March 21 as the polling date.

The AL started distribution of application forms on Saturday at AL president’s Dhanmondi office.

The form distribution and submission will continue until February 14 between 11:00am to 5:00pm every day.

On February 15, interviews of the aspiring candidates will be held at prime minister Sheikh Hasina’s official residence Ganabhaban.

Besides, application form distribution and submission for Chattogram City Corporation polls also began on Tuesday and it will continue till February 14.

Seven persons collected forms for mayoral post while 234 for councillor posts.

The mayoral aspirants are—incumbent mayor AJM Nasir Uddin, former minister Nurul Islam, Chattogram city unit AL vice-president Khorshed Alam, its joint general secretary S Rezaul Karim and AL leader Mujibur Rahman.

The price of nomination forms for member of parliament post is Tk 30,000, mayoral post Tk 25,000 and councillor post Tk 10,000.

AL office secretary Biplob Barua said that a meeting of AL local government election nomination board led AL president Sheikh Hasina will be held on Saturday.

Dhaka-10 constituency fell vacant after Awami League member of parliament Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest in the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

Gaibandha-3 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP M Yunus Ali Sarker on December 27.

Bagerhat-4 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Mozammel Hossain on January 10.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email