3 by-polls on March 21

Staff Correspondent | Published: 15:58, Feb 06,2020 | Updated: 01:42, Feb 07,2020


The Election Commission on Thursday announced schedule for by-elections to Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies fixing the voting on March 21.

Election Commission secretary M Alamgir announced the schedule at the Election Commission office in Dhaka.

According to the announcement, the nomination paper submission deadline is February 19, verification on February 23, appeal filing on February 24-26, appeal settlement on February 28, withdrawal deadline on February 29 and symbol distribution on March 1.

Dhaka-10 constituency fell vacant after Awami League member of parliament Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest in the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

Gaibandha-3 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP M Yunus Ali Sarker on December 27.

Bagerhat-4 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Mozammel Hossain on January 10.

The EC secretary said that electronic voting machines will be used instead of ballots in Dhaka-10, but in rest two constituencies voting will be done by ballots.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email