17 receive Bangabandhu Memorial Award 2020

DU correspondent | Published: 02:29, Jan 25,2020


Guests and dignitaries stand for the national anthem during a discussion organised by Bangabandhu Foundation USA at RC Majumder Auditorium at Dhaka University on Friday. — New Age photo

Seven dignitaries have been adorned with ‘Bangabandhu Memorial Award-2020’ for their contribution in research on country’s founding president Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

State minister for women and children affairs Fazilatunnesa Indira handed over the award to the recipients at RC Majumdar Arts Auditorium of Dhaka University on Friday organised by Bangabandhu Foundation USA.

The awardees are former Dhaka university vice-chancellor AAMS Arefin Siddique, author Selina Hossain, historian Sirajuddin Ahmed, National Press Club secretary Farida Yasmin, freedom fighter and former diplomat Anwarul Alam, actress Anwara Begum, managing director  of Bangladesh Development Bank Kazi Alamgir, singer Rezwana Choudhury Bannya, former athlete Rehana Parvin, Mahila League president Shafia Khatun, lawmaker Kaniz Sultana, Monira Sultana, state minister for women and children Affair Fazilatunnesa Indira, reciter Rakhi Biswas, Bangabandhu Foundation USA executive president Jakir Hossain Khan, president  Nurul Abedin and co-ordinator Mushtari Begum.

Presided over by Nurul Abedin the programme was also addressed by AAMS Arefin Siddique, Selina Hossain, Sirajuddin Ahmed, and Anwarul Alam, among others.

The speakers called for following the ideology of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman so that the Bengali nation could occupy the place of the best nation across the globe.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email