Ansar retain women’s handball title

Staff Correspondent | Published: 22:54, Jan 21,2020


Bangladesh Ansar players celebrate with the trophy after defeating BJMC in the National Women’s Handball Championship final at the Captain M Mansur Ali Handball Stadium on Tuesday.— Courtesy photo

Bangladesh Ansar retained National Women’s Handball Championship title beating BJMC by 33-25 goals in the 30th edition final at the Captain M Mansur Ali Handball Stadium on Tuesday.

With the  feat, Ansar maintained their supremacy in the competition by clinching the title for the highest  number of 18th times followed by BJMC’s 11 times while  Dhaka Metro lifted the title in the inaugural edition in 1983.

Khadija scored most 11 goals in the final while Shilpi Akter scored eight goals for BJMC. Ansar player Alpona Akter was adjudged player of the championship. 

Jamalpur DSA finished third after a 35-19 goals win against Naogaon DSA in the place-deciding match held at the same venue.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email