Electoral rolls amendment bill placed in parliament

Staff Correspondent | Published: 01:21, Jan 21,2020


A bill titled Electoral Rolls (Amendment) Bill 2020 extending the deadline for updating voter lists till March 2 instead of January 31 every year was placed in parliament on Monday.

Law, justice and parliamentary affairs minister Anisul Huq placed the bill and it was sent to the respective scrutiny committee for further examination.

The committee was asked to submit its report within three working days.

The amendment is being brought to the existing Electoral Rolls Act 2009 aiming to extend the timeframe till March 1 as it’s difficult to update all the voter lists within only 29 days from January 2 to January 31.

According to article 11 of the existing Electoral Rolls Act 2009, there is a provision to update all the voter lists from January 2 to January 31 every year.

The cabinet meeting also decided to observe the National Voter Day on March 2 instead of March 1 every year, he said.

Besides, the Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation Bill 2020 was introduced in parliament on Monday to offload 49 per cent share of the corporation in the capital market.

Road transport and bridges minister Obaidul Quader placed the bill in the House and it was sent to the respective Parliamentary Standing Committee for further examination. The committee was asked to submit its report within 14 working days.

According to the proposed law, the government will own 51 per cent shares while 49 per cent will be offloaded for the public.

The bill was placed to update an ordinance promulgated in 1961 keeping a provision to offload the shares of BRTC in the capital market.

The authorised capital of the BRTC will be Tk 1,000 which will be divided in to 100 crore general shares with Tk 10 base price. The authorised capital of the corporation under the existing law is only Tk 6 crore.

The paid-up capital of the corporation is Tk 3 crore in the existing law. Its amount has not been fixed in the proposed law as the BRTC annual general meeting or special general meeting will fix the amount of the paid-up capital but it can’t exceed the amount of the authorised capital.

There will be a 23 member board of directors instead of the existing 11-member one. These directors will come from Local Government Division, cabinet division, Finance Division, Road Transport and Highways Division, Public Security Division, Shipping Ministry, Dhaka Transport Coordination Authority, Roads and Highways Department, representatives from the shareholders and one member from every administrative division.

In the bill, a new provision has been incorporated among the functions of the BRTC that it will render transport services during emergency situation like hartal (strike), blockade, transport strike, emergency condition, national disaster, Bishwa Ijtema, freedom fighters’ rally and in the case of emergency need of the state.

The corporation can form one and more companies taking prior permission from the government.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email