Fayez, Selim elected Sylhet bar president, secretary

Staff Correspondent . Sylhet | Published: 01:14, Jan 18,2020


ATM Fayez Uddin was elected president and Md Fazlul Haque Selim general secretary of Sylhet District Lawyers’ Association for the running year 2020.

Bar association election commissioner Ali Mostafa Mishkatun Nur announced the results of the polls on early Friday after the completion of counting the cast votes, the association sources said.

Earlier, the annual polls of the association ran without any break from 10:00am to 4:00pm on Thursday at the Second Library Building of the organisation.

The election commissioner told New Age that 1,408 out of 1,681 voters exercised their voting right in the polls to elect the organisation leaders.

He said that 55 candidates contested for different posts of the 26-member executive committee of the association.

Apart from the president and general secretary, Abdul Kayium was elected vice-president 1, Makhlisur Rahman vice-president 2, Humayun Rashid (Soyeb) joint-secretary 1, Masudur Rahman Khan (Munna) joint-secretar 2, Mominul Islam Momin social welfare secretary, Azmal Hossain assistant social welfare secretary, Tanvir Aktar Khan library affair secretary, Emdadul Haque chief election commissioner, Liaquat Ali and Jayjit Acharya as assistant election commissioners, Mizanur Rahman, Redwanul Islam and Abu Fahad were elected assistant secretaries in the polls.

Besides, Azizur Rahman, Abdul Gaffar, Raj Uddin, Jyotirmay Purkayastha (Kanchan), Abdul Odud, Dina Yasmin, Abdul Mannan Chowdhury, Abdul Gafur, Jasim Uddin Ahmad, Obaidur Rahman and Pradip Kumar Bhattacharya were elected executive members of the association.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email