Balloting goes on in Ctg-8 by-polls

United News of Bangladesh . Chattogram | Published: 13:12, Jan 13,2020


Balloting is underway in the by-election to Chattogram-8 constituency which fell vacant after the death of Moinuddin Khan Badal.

Electronic voting machines or EVMs are being used in this election. Voting started at 9:00am and will continue till 5:00pm without any break.

Six candidates, including Awami League’s Moslem Uddin Ahmed and BNP’s Abu Sufian, are contesting the by-polls.

The other contestants are — Chairman of Bangladesh Nationalist Front SM Abul Kalam Azad, Syed Mohammad Farid Uddin of Islamic Front Bangladesh, Bapon Dasgupta of NAP and independent candidate Mohammad Emdadul Haque.

Chattogram-8 constituency is comprised of five wards — ward No 3 to 7 — of Chittagong City Corporation and Boalkhali upazila, except Sripur and Kharandip unions.

There are 475,996 voters in the constituency.

Badal, the executive president of a faction of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, was elected MP with Awami League’s symbol Boat in the last general election.

He died at a hospital in India on November 7 last at the age of 67.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email