High Court yet to hear 83 cases against Dec 30 vote

M Moneruzzaman | Published: 00:24, Dec 30,2019


The High Court is yet to hear 83 petitions filed mostly by BNP candidates in February and June challenging the legality of the December 30 general elections.

The petitioners cited irregularities that included ballot stuffing on the night preceding the polling day, intimidation of voters and arrest of opposition polling agents.

They sought directives to the government and the Election Commission to cancel the election results of 83 constituencies and hold fresh voting in the Jatiya Sangsad seats.

Ruhul Quddus Kazal, one  of the lawyers for the BNP candidates, told New Age on Thursday that the petitions could not be heard due to the Supreme Court’s vacations.

‘We hope that they would be heard in the New Year,’ he said.

Court officials told this newspaper that 16 petitions filed by BNP candidates challenging the uncontested general elections in 2014 had been dismissed by the High Court. 

The BNP candidates who challenged the 2018 polls include Mizanur Rahman Minu from Rajshahi-2 constituency, Zainul Abedin Farroque from Noakhali-2, Barketullah Bulu from Noakhali-3, Mostafa Mohsin Montu from Dhaka-7, Subrata Chowdhury from Dhaka-5, Nabi Ullah from Dhaka-5, Dewan Salauddin from Dhaka-19, Shah Reazul Hannan from Gazipur-4, Abdul Haye from Munshiganj-3, Abdul Momen Chowdhury from Chattogram-15, Naser Rahman from Moulvi Bazar-3, Khandaker Abdul Muktadir from Sylhet-1,  GK Gouse from Habiganj-3, Mazibur Rahman Sarwar from Barishal-6, Zahir Uddin Swapan from Barishal-1, Ali Newaz Mahmood Khyom from Rajbari-1, Shama Obaed from Faridpur-2, Aninda Islam from Jashore-2, Nitai Roy Chowdhury from Magura-2, Sheikh Masud Rana from Bagherhat-1, AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon from Noakhali-1, Abul Khair Bhuiyan from Lakshmipur-2, Munshi Rafiqul Islam from Feni-1, Sabbir Ahmed from Rangpur-3, and Romana Mahmood from Sirajganj-7.          

Nitai Roy Chowdhury, also fighting the legal battle on behalf of other aggrieved BNP candidates, told New Age that the BNP-led Jatiya Oikya Front decided to file one petition from each district to back up the demand for fresh voting. 

Nitai submitted 11petitions to the High Court on Thursday on behalf of 11 BNP candidates from the Khulna division and the Faridpur district. 

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email