All 4 matches end in draw

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Nov 13,2019


All four matches of the National Cricket League fifth round ended in dull draws, with Dhaka Metro batsman Marshall Ayub hitting a century against Sylhet division in the final day at the Shahid Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi on Tuesday.

Metro rode on Marshall’s 161 to declare their second innings on 395-6 before Sylhet reached 187-4 at stumps, chasing a target of 356.

In their tier-one match in Bogura, Dhaka division reached 176-4 in their second innings, chasing a target of 284 after Rangpur division posted 271-9d thanks to an unbeaten 161 from Nasir Hossain.

Rajshahi division bundled out Khulna division for 201 in their first innings at Mirpur with pacer Farhad Reza claiming 6-48, before reaching 191-7 in their second innings at the end of play.

Barishal division’s tier-two match at home against Chattogram division finally got underway after the first three days were washed out, with the hosts declaring their first innings on 70-3 before Chattogram raced to 45-0.

Metro v Sylhet

Metro resumed on 245-4 with a lead of 206, batted until the lunch break to set up a 356-run target for Sylhet in 65 overs.

Marshall, unbeaten 73 overnight, batted quickly to add 90 runs alone before he was bowled by Alok Kapali and the declaration followed soon.

Towfiq Khan and Shanaj Ahmed hitting 75 and 61 respectively to ensure a draw for Sylhet while Taskin Ahmed claimed 3-24 for Metro.

Earlier in the match, Sylhet earned a 40-run lead in the first innings after posting 351 thanks to Amit Hasan’s 125, in reply to Metro’s 311-8d.

Dhaka v Rangpur

Rangpur, who led the first innings by 12-run, declared their second innings on 271-9, resuming fourth day’s play on 200-5

Nasir Hossain led their batting charge again adding 57 to his overnight 104.

In reply, Dhaka were reduced to 68-3, but Roqibul Hasan hit an unbeaten 80 to safely shepherd them to a draw.

Khulna v Rajshahi

Khulna were bundled out for 201 in their first innings replying to Rajshahi’s 151, after resuming the day’s play on 154-4, with Farhad Reza claiming all six remaining wickets on the final day.

Avishek Mitra made 51 and was supported by Muktar Ali (39) and Farhad Hossain (28) as Rajshahi ended the play, leading Khulna by 141.

Barishal v Chattogram

The match began in the final session of the day due to wet outfield and batting first  Sohag Gazi and Abu Sayeem made 44 and 21 not out respectively for Barishal before they declared their innings after just 13 overs.

Pinak Ghosh and Sadikur Rahman remained unbeaten on 30 and 14 as the match ended in an inevitable draw.


Brief Scores

Dhaka Metro v Sylhet

Metro 1st innings 311-8dec in 83.5 overs & 2nd innings 395-7dec in 101 overs (Marshall 163, Azmir 80; Kapali 2-59, Enamul jr 2-114) v Sylhet 1st innings 351 all out & 2nd innings 187-4 in 49 overs (Towfiq 75, Shanaj 61; Taskin 3-24)

Result: Match drawn.


Rangpur v Dhaka

Rangpur 1st innings 234 all & 2nd innings 271-9dec in 99 overs (Nasir 161 not out; Shahadat 2-24, Arafat 2-36, Taibur 2-37) v Dhaka 1st innings 222 all out & 2nd innings 176-4 in 63 overs (Raqibul 80 not out; Nasir 1-10)

Result: Match drawn.


Rajshahi v Khulna

Rajshahi 1st innings 151 all out & 2nd innings 191-7 in 61 overs (Avishek 51, Muktar 39; Razzak 4-69) v Khulna 1st innings 201 all out in 73.1 overs (Amit 59, Tushar 58; Farhad 6-48)

Result: Match drawn.


Barishal v Chattogram

Barishal 1st innings 70-3dec in 13 overs v Chattogram 1st innings 45-0 in 6 overs

Result: Match drawn.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email