Workers Party forms 91-member central committee

Menon re-elected president, Badsha GS

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:03, Nov 06,2019


Workers Party general secretary Fazle Hossain Badsha addresses a news conference after the end of the party’s council session at Diploma Engineers’ Institution in Dhaka on Tuesday. — New Age photo

Workers Party of Bangladesh on Tuesday formed a 91-member central committee re-electing Rashed Khan Menon president and Fazle Hossain Badsha general secretary.

The committee was formed in the last day of party’s 10th congress held at Institution of Diploma Engineers at Kakrail.

Fazle Badsha at a press briefing announced the new central committee.

The members of the of the party politburo are Rashed Khan Menon, Fazle Hossain Badsha, Anisur Rahman Mollick, Sushanta Kumar Das, Mahmudul Hassan Manik, Nur Ahmed Bakul, Quamrul Ahsan, Hazera Sultana, Aminul Islam Golap, Mustafa Lutfullah, Joyti Shankar Jhantu, Bashirul Alam, Nazul Islam Hakkani, Ali Ahmed Enamul Haque Emran and Nazrul Haque Nilu.

Five new party politburo members were included as three dissident politburo members Bimal Biswas, Nurul Hasan and Iqbql Kabir Jahid were dropped from the previous committee.

A total of 651 councillors from 57 districts elect the new committee, Fazle Hossain said at the briefing.Bimal Biswas, the former general secretary of the party, on October 22 withdrew his primary membership on ‘ideological grounds’ prior to the party’s 10th congress.

Later he was expelled from the party on October 27 on charge of breaching party rules.

Moreover, the six dissident leaders of the party sent an open letter where they called on the party leaders to boycott the party congress.

Bimal and six others dissidents announced that they would hold a two-day alternative council session in Jashore on November 29 and 30. 

The six dissidents were not expelled from the congress and they could join the party before the first meeting of the central committee, Fazle Hossain said.

Rashed Khan Menon thanked the leaders and activist of the party for making the 10th congress successful.

The immediate past 9th congress of the party was held in Rajshahi in 2015.

The WP was formed in 1992.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email