Two win Humayun Ahmed Award

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Nov 04,2019


Organisers announce names of EXIM Bank-Anyadin Humayun Ahmed Literary Award winners at a press conference at Bangladesh National Museum on Sunday. — Abdullah Apu

Writers Rabeya Khatun and Shahadat Hossain have been named winners of EXIM Bank-Anyadin Humayun Ahmed Literary Award 2019.

The award, the joint initiative of fortnightly Anyadin and EXIM Bank, is awarded to two writers every year on the eve of Humayun Ahmed’s birthday.

The announcement was made at a press conference held at Bangladesh National Museum on Sunday.

Writer-critic Syed Manzoorul Islam and Anyadin editor Mazharul Islam, among others, were present at the programme.

Rabeya Khatun won the award in the lifetime achievement category. She will receive Tk 5,00,000 as part of the award.

A recipient of Ekushey Padak (1993) and Independence Award (2017) Rabeya Khatun wrote her first novel Madhumati in 1963. Her notable works including Mon Ek Shwet Kapoti (Mind is a White Pigeon, 1965), Ononto Onwesha (Endless Pursuit, 12967), Rajarbagh (1967), Saheb Bazar (1967), Ferari Surjo (Fugitive Sun, 1975), Onek Joner Ekjan (One of Many Persons, 1976), Jiboner Ar Ek Naam Dibos Rojoni (Another Name of Life is Day and Night, 1980), Bayanno Golir Ek Goli (One of Fifty Two Alleys, 1984), Baganer Naam Malnichara (Name of the Garden is Malnichara), Ei Birohokal (This Time of Separation, 1995), Ei Bhora Bador Mah Bhador (This Rainy Day of the Month of Bhadra, 1995), Priya Gulshana (Beloved Gulshana, 1997) and others.

Shahadat Hossain won the EXIM Bank-Anyadin Humayun Ahmed Literary Award in the young litterateur category for his novel Nisshanga Nokkhatra. He will receive a prize-money of Tk 1,00,000 as part of the award.

The awards will be handed over on November 12.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email