Amitabh to receive Dadasaheb Phalke award

Culture Desk | Published: 00:00, Sep 27,2019


Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan and other prestigious award winning veteran Bollywood actor Amitabh Bachchan will be awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke award this year, reports Hindustan Times.

This is India’s highest award in film arena.

According to the report, India’s Minister of Information & Broadcasting Prakash Javadekar has confirmed the information.

Javadekar tweeted on Tuesday, ‘The legend Amitabh Bachchan who entertained and inspired for 2 generations has been selected unanimously for #DadaSahabPhalke award. The entire country and international community is happy. My heartiest congratulations to him.’

The first recipient of the award was actress Devika Rani, who was honoured at the 17th National Film Awards. As of 2017, there have been 49 awardees. Among those, actor Prithviraj Kapoor (1971) and actor Vinod Khanna (2017) are the only posthumous recipients. Other prominent winners include Manna Dey (2007), Shashi Kapoor (2014) and Shyam Benegal (2005).

Amitabh Bachchan is known for critically and commercially successful films, and for being one of the most popular movie stars in India. He made his debut in 1969 in the film titled Saat Hindustani. He had many flop movies in his kitty for quite a while, but his role in Zanjeer in 1972 made him an action movie star. 

He established himself in the Hindi film industry with films such as Zanjeer, Deewaar and Sholay. Amitabh Bachchan has paired up with many prominent actresses like Jaya Bhaduri, Hema Malini, Rekha, Zeenat Aman, Sridevi, Smita Patil and others.

More recently he has received acclaim for films such as Pink, Paa and Piku.

Now-a-days this veteran is busy with his new film Gulabo Sitabo directed by Shoojit Sircar, produced by Ronnie Lahiri and Sheel Kumar, and written by Juhi Chaturvedi.

On television, the actor is known for hosting the game show Kaun Banega Crorepati.

For the contribution in Bollywood film industry, The Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri in 1984, the Padma Bhushan in 2001 and the Padma Vibhushan in 2015. The Government of France honoured him with its highest civilian honour, Knight of the Legion of Honour, in 2007. Besides he has received other prestigious awards for his acting talent.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email