Editors’ Council gets new committee

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:52, Sep 17,2019 | Updated: 00:58, Sep 17,2019


Mahfuz Anam, Naem Nizam

The Editors’ Council in a meeting on Sunday at The Daily Star Centre formed its new executive committee with The Daily Star editor and publisher Mahfuz Anam as the president and Bangladesh Protidin editor Naem Nizam as the general secretary.

The three other office bearers are vice-president Ittefaq editor Tasmima Hossain, assistant general secretary Bonik Barta editor and publisher Dewan Hanif Mahmud and treasurer Samakal acting editor Mustafiz Shafi, according to a press release.

The four executive committee members are Manabzamin editor in chief Matiur Rahman Chowdhury, Bhorer Kagoj editor Shymal Dutta, Jugantor acting editor Saiful Alam and Dainik Azadi editor MA Malek, the release said.

It said that the tenure of the new executive committee will be for two years — from October 1, 2019, to September 30, 2021.

Editors’ Council was founded in 2013 to play an active role in protecting press freedom, developing professional journalism and strengthening the editorial institution.

The founding president of Eidtors’ Council, Samakal’s former editor Golam Sarwar died in 2018.

According to the press release, the parishad also decided to launch a website of the institution, recruit new members and organise seminars and events on press freedom and other journalism-related issues.

The council plans to hold a seminar in the coming months on strengthening the future of the print media and related challenges, it said.

It said that the Editors’ Council also decided that the Council will expand its activities and membership at the district level.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email