Unified admission test in 7 agricultural universities

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Jul 20,2019 | Updated: 01:08, Jul 20,2019


The government is going to introduce a cluster-based admission test in seven agricultural and agricultural subjects-based public universities out of total 45 public universities this year.

The date of the admission test would be fixed on this July 29, said a press release issued by the Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University on Thursday.

The unified admission test for all public universities is scheduled to be implemented partially this year while the initiative was taken nine years back to reduce the hassles of the admission seekers and their guardians.

The seven universities are: Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University, Dhaka; Bangladesh Agricultural University, Mymensingh; Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University, Gazipur; Sylhet Agricultural University; Khulna Agricultural University; Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University and Patuakhali Science and Technology University.

The decision was taken at the 260 meeting of the standing committee of Bangladesh Bishwabidyalay Parishad (Bangladesh association of universities), a platform of vice-chancellors, held at the Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University.

The release said that this year Bangladesh Agricultural University would implement the process while other universities would follow suit gradually with the oldest-running ones leading the newly established ones.

Currently the admission test for public and private medical colleges is being organised centrally with the tests being held separately at different public universities.

The education ministry in 2010 had decided in principle to lower the number of admission tests by taking one test for a cluster of universities, to help cut down on the spending of admission seekers, reduce the burden on students and to put a curb on the coaching centre business.

This year, the unified admission test would be taken for admitting first year students of 2019-20 academic years in five agricultural and two agricultural subjects-based public universities, said the release.

The meeting was chaired by Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University vice chancellor and Bangladesh Bishwabidyalay Parishad president Professor Kamal Uddin Ahamed.

Vice chancellors of 29 universities including National University VC professor Harun-or-Rashid, Jagannath University VC professor Mijanur Rahman and Shahjalal Science and Technology University VC Farid Uddin Ahmed were also present there.

At present, there are 49 public universities in the country and the academic activities are in progress in 45 universities among them, according to the University Grants Commission of Bangladesh.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email