Sakib named in WC Team of the Tournament

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Jul 16,2019

Sakib al Hasan

A file photo from June 24, 2019 shows Bangladesh all-rounder Sakib al Hasan celebrating the wicket of Afghanistan’s Najibullah Zadran during their ICC World Cup match in Southampton. — Reuters photo

Bangladesh all-rounder Sakib al Hasan on Monday was named in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 Team of the Tournament for his valiant efforts with both bat and ball in the recently concluded mega tournament, held in England and Wales.

Sakib had an outstanding World Cup in the British Peninsula, scoring 606 runs at an average of 86.57 while also bagging 11 wickets at an average of 36.27.

The 32-year old scored two hundreds and five fifties in eight innings he played in the competition and also bagged 5-29 against Afghanistan, which helped him earn man-of-the-match awards in all three Bangladesh wins.

Sakib scored his runs this summer batting at No.3 for Bangladesh, but for much of his career he has come in at No.5 and it is there that he appears in this team.

Along with Sakib, four players from England – Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, and two players each from New Zealand (Kane Williamson, Lockie Ferguson), India (Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah) and Australia (Alex Carey, Mitchell Starc) got their places in the team.

New Zealand’s skipper and Player of the Tournament Williamson was named captain of the side while Australia’s Carey was included as wicket-keeper batsman.

New Zealand pacer Trent Boult was named 12th man of the team.

The side was selected by former internationals and commentators Ian Bishop, Ian Smith and Isa Guha, along with cricket writer Lawrence Booth, while ICC General Manager of Cricket, Geoff Allardice, was the fifth member and convener of the committee.



1.  Jason Roy (England) – 443 runs at 63.28

2.  Rohit Sharma (India) – 648 runs at 81.00

3.  Kane Williamson (c) (New Zealand) – 578 runs at 82.57

4.  Joe Root (England) – 556 runs at 61.77

5.  Sakib al Hasan (Bangladesh) – 606 runs at 86.57, 11 wickets at 36.27

6.  Ben Stokes (England) – 465 runs at 66.42, seven wickets at 35.14

7.  Alex Carey (wk) (Australia) – 375 runs at 62.50, 20 dismissals

8.  Mitchell Starc (Australia) – 27 wickets at 18.59

9.  Jofra Archer (England) – 20 wickets at 23.05

10.  Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand) – 21 wickets at 19.47

11.  Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 18 wickets at 20.61

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email