New list of government grant-winning films declared

Shomi Kaiser’s film gets grant

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 00:00, May 16,2019 | Updated: 22:27, May 15,2019


A new list of government grant-winning films has been declared after a meeting of the grant committee on Tuesday. Besides the previously declared eight full-length and five short-length films, the new list of grant-winning films includes Shomi Kaiser’s Swapna Mrityu Bhalobasa.
All members of the grant committee, including Nasiruddin Yousuff, Mamunur Rashid, Morshedul Islam and Matin Rahman who resigned from the committee citing anomalies and later withdrew their resignations, were present at the meeting on Tuesday.
The committee has declared nine full-length and five short films winners of the government grant for fiscal 2018-19.
Earlier, the four members resigned from the committee with a joint statement that said, ‘We have worked as members of this committee, but never had such an unfortunate experience.’
Among the eight films that the information ministry declared winners of the government grant, two films Sarah Begum Kabori’s Ei Tumi Sei Tumi and Lucky Enam’s 1971 Sei Sab Din caused the rift.
When contacted about the new list of government grant-winning films where Shomi Kaiser’s Swapna Mrityu Bhalobasa has been included, Mamunur Rashid said, ‘The name of the film was proposed earlier. The information ministry informed us that it was mistakenly excluded from the previous list so they included it on the new list.’
‘The decision to allocate government grant to the film was taken unanimously,’ said Nasiruddin Yousuff.
The grant-winning full-length feature films are Sarah Begum Kabori’s Ei Tumi Sei Tumi, Mir Sabbir’s Raat Jaga Phul, Khan Sharfuddin Mohammad Akram’s Bidhabader Kotha, Kazi Mashud’s Antostikria, Lucky Enam’s 1971
Sei Sab Din and Shomi Kaiser’s Swapna Mrityu Bhalobasa.
Humaira Bilkis’s Bilkis Ebang Bilkis and Purabi Matin’s Melaghar have won grant in the documentary category and Abu Raihan M Jewel’s Nasu Dakat Kupokat has won the grant in children’s film category.
Nasu Dakat Kupokat, Raat Jaga Phul, Swapna Mrityu Bhalobasa and Bidhabader Kotha will receive Tk 6,000,000 each, while Ei Tumi Sei Tumi, Antostikria and 1971 Sei Sab Din will receive Tk 5,000,000 each.
Each of the two documentaries will receive Tk 3,000,000.
Five short films — Jannatul Ferdaus Ivy’s Khijirpurer Messi, Jahid Sultan’s Mithur Ekattur Jatra, Nazmul Hasan’s Rupali Kotha, Farasat Rizwan’s Shekal Bhangar Gaan and Ujjal Kumar Mandol’s Moyna —have won the government grant for current fiscal year. Each of the short films will receive Tk 1,000,000.
The makers will have to make their films within nine months of receiving the first cheque of the grant money.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email