10 KCC ward councillors join AL

Six of them elected with BNP ticket

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:24, Mar 25,2019 | Updated: 00:26, Mar 25,2019


Ten ward councillors elected in the May 15, 2018 Khulna City Corporation election on Sunday joined ruling Awami League in a reception of elected representatives of Khulna organised by 14-party Alliance at Shaheed Hadis Park in Khulna city, according to a press release issued by Khulna city unit of AL.
Six of them were elected with Bangladesh Nationalist Party nomination, three were elected independently and another councillor, whose post from BNP was suspended earlier, insiders in Khulna BNP and AL said.
The ward councillors who won with BNP ticket and joined AL at Hadis Park programme are - Monira Khatun of ward no 1, Md Saiful Islam of ward no 2, Sheikh Shamsuddin Ahmed Prince of ward no 6, Md Dalim Hawlader of ward no 8, Md Moniruzzaman of ward no 12 and Md Gausul Azam of ward no 20.
Councillor of ward no 16 Md Anisur Rahman Biswas, whose party post of BNP was withdrawn before the election, also joined AL.
The independent ward councillors who joined AL on Sunday are - Imam Hasan Chowdhury Moyna of ward no 23, Golam Mawla Shanu of ward no 26 and Md Arif Hossain Mithu of ward no 31.
Of the independent three ward councillors, Shanu was once involved in politics of Freedom Party.
The AL press release said that the 10 ward councillors and several other BNP leaders joined AL by handing over flower-made boat, the election symbol of AL, to AL lawmaker Sheikh Salahuddin Jewel of Khulna-2, Khulna city corporation mayor Talukder Abdul Khaleque and Khulna 14-party Alliance coordinator Mizanur Rahman Mizan.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email