BNP dumps celebs, senior leaders

Protests continue at Khaleda’s Gulshan office

Rashed Ahmed Mitul | Published: 00:00, Dec 10,2018 | Updated: 02:39, Dec 10,2018


The main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party on Sunday dropped a number of senior leaders and celebrities from nominations for the December 30 general election.
Senior BNP leaders who did not get nomination included vice-chairman and former foreign minister M Morshed Khan, vice-chairman and former state minister for cultural affairs Selima Rahman, former state minister for education Ehsanul Hoque Milon and vice-chairman and former caretaker government adviser retired major general Ruhul Alam chowdhury.
BNP vice-chairman Shamsuzzaman Dudu, chairperson’s advisory council member Taimur Alam Khondaker and organising secretary Syed Emran Saleh Prince also did not nomination.
Singer Baby Nazin, Monir Khan and actor Helal Khan also failed to get the party nomination.
BNP candidate for Natore 1 Kamrun Nahar Shirin was replaced by a Jatiya Oikya Front candidate Manjurul Islam of the Krishak Sramik Janata League as the deadline for withdrawal of nominations expired Sunday.
The number of female candidates nominated by BNP and its allies stood at 15, including Tahsina Rushdir Luna for Sylhet 2, Afroza Abbas for Dhaka-9, Kuri Siddique of KSJL for Tangail 8, Salma Alam for Patuakhali 2, Rumana Mahmud for Sirajganj 2 and Rita Rahman (Peoples Party of Bangladesh) for Rangpur 3, Masuda Momin for Bogura 3 and Afroza Khan Rita for Manikganj 3.
Late BNP secretary general Khandaker Delwar Hossain’s son Khandaker Abdul Hamid Dablu was given letter for symbol allocation for Manikganj 1 on Saturday in the face of protests for him. He was, however, finally dropped BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir issued amended letter for symbol allocation in favour of SA Kabir Jinnah.
BNP vice-chairman Shah Moazzem Hossain and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal faction general secretary Abdul Malek Ratan were given final nominations for Munshiganj 1 and Cumilla 4 respectively.
Supporters of BNP leaders deprived of nominations for the 11th parliamentary elections staged protests in front of BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia’s Gulshan office for the third straight day on Sunday.
The protesters chanted slogans for nomination of Md Abdullah for Munshiganj 1 and Manjurul Ahsan Munshi for Cumilla 4.
The protesters of Abdullah and Manjurul tying white ribbons in the head staged protests and at one stage Manjurul’s supporters tried to break open a gate of the office.
Manjurul’s supporters continued the protests until evening while Abdullah’s supporters left the spot in the afternoon.
Fakhrul Islam Alamgir along with other leaders left Khaleda’s Gulshan office early Sunday, the BNP chief office sources said.
Supporters of other deprived candidates, including Ehsanul Hoque Milon,  Khandaker Abdul Hamid Dablu, principal  Suhrabuddin, Faisal Chowdhury  and Selimuzzaman Selim went on wild protests in front of Khaleda’s office on Friday and Saturday.
Film actor Helal Khan, also BNP-backed cultural front Jatiyatabadi Sangskritik Sangathan convener, and BNP’s ally Nejam-e Islam chairman Maulana Abdur Rakib, who were dropped after getting primary nomination for Sylhet 6, at a press conference in Sylhet alleged that central alliance leaders failed to maintain transparency in finalising the nominations.
BNP nominated but former district Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal president Faysal Ahmad Chowdhury for election race against ruling Awami League candidate education minister Nurul Islam Nahid in the constituency.
New Age correspondent in Jashore reported that a car of Jamiat-e Ulama-e Islam president Mufti Mohammad Wakkas was attacked allegedly by supporters BNP’s deprived aspirant Shahid Iqbal Hossain near Manirampur Degree College at about 11:00am.
Local people said that the car of the BNP-led alliance candidate for Jashore 5 was attacked by some people while it was going towards Jashore town. No casualties were reported.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email