Awami League leaves 60 seats for partners

Moloy Saha | Published: 00:00, Dec 08,2018 | Updated: 02:30, Dec 08,2018


Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader hands over letters to MP candidates of AL-led alliance confirming their electoral symbol in the party president’s Dhanmondi office in Dhaka on Friday. — New Age photo

Ruling Awami League on Friday finally gave away 60 seats to its partners including 42 for Jatiya Party led by HM Ershad.
The party general secretary Obaidul Quader, at a ceremony at Dhanmandi 3 office of the party president, inaugurated the final nomination letter distribution by handing over a letter to the Bikalpa Dhara secretary general Abdul Mannan.
After the ceremony, Quader told a press briefing that the Awami League-led alliance partner Workers Party of Bangladesh has been allocated 5, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal faction 3, Bangladesh Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal 1, Bikalpadhara 3 and Jatiya Party (Manju) gets 2.
Moreover, Jatiya Party led by HM Ershad, a partner of Awami League-led grand alliance would get 40-42 seats, Quader said.
The above candidates of the alliance would take part with the ‘boat’ symbol and more candidates of the alliance could take part in the elections with their party symbols, Quader added.
‘We shall send full list of our 300 party candidates to the Election Commission tomorrow,’ Quader added.
Awami League leaders earlier nominated double candidates in 17 constituencies and now the party has streamlined the list down to single candidate for each seat.
Among them, in Kishoreganj 3, former general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam received party nomination; Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury got nomination in Rangpur 6, though party president Sheikh Hasina also filed nomination paper for this seat, Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir got nomination in Chandpur 1, chief whip ASM Firoj is to contest from Patuakhali 3, and the rest include Muhammad Shafiqur Rahman from Chandpur 4, Mohammad Nurul Amin from Chandpur 2, Tanvir Hasan from Tangail 2, BM Kabirul Haque from Narail 1, Nizam Uddin Jalil from Naogaon 5, Mohammad Shahidul Islam Jalil from Natore 1, Dhirendra Debnath Shambhu from Barguna 1, Abul Kalam Azad from Jamalpur 1, Mohammad Mozaffar Hossain from Jamalpur 5, Habibur Rahman Molla from Dhaka 5, Haji Mohammad Selim from Dhaka 7, and, Akbar Hossain Pathan from Dhaka 17.
League’s central committee is still facing 80 rebel party candidates from across the country and is trying to ensure that they drop their candidacy.
A team assigned by party president Sheikh Hasina has been entrusted with the mission to relent the rebels from contesting the elections.  

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email