18 additional HC judges appointed

Staff Correspondent | Published: 01:39, May 31,2018


President Md Abdul Hamid on Wednesday appointed 18 additional judges at the High Court Division for two years.
Appointment of the new judges would become effective after taking oath of their offices, said a notification issued by law ministry on Wednesday afternoon.
Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain would administer the oath of office of the newly appointed judges at 3:00pm today.
Out of the 18 judges, six are district judges, seven are the Supreme Court lawyers and the remaining five are deputy attorney generals.
The new judges are International Crimes Tribunal’s member Md Abu Ahmed Jamadar, law ministry’s retired additional secretary Md Mostafizur Rahman, Narsingdi district and session judge Fatema Najib, Dhaka metropolitan sessions judge Md Kamrul Hossain Molla, Dhaka district and session judge SM Kuddus Zaman, Dhaka divisional special judge Md Atowar Rahman, Supreme Court lawyers SM Abdul Mobin, Mohammad Ali, Mohi Uddin Shamim, Md Riaz Uddin Khan, M Khairul Alam, Ahmed Sohel and KM Hafizul Alam, deputy attorney generals Khizir Hayat, Shashanka Shekhar Sarkar, SM Moniruzzaman, Sardar Mohammad Rashed Jahangir and Khondaker Diliruzzaman.
With the appointments, the total number of High Court judges stands at 98 while the number of Appellate Division judges is four.
It is the first appointment to the High Court Division after prime miniter Sheikh Hasina assumed power for the second tenure in January 2014. 

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email