Munim shines again in Abahani win

Staff Correspondent | Published: 23:17, Jun 14,2021


Half centuries from Munim Shahriar and Nazmul Hossain followed by a fiery opening spell from Mehedi Hasan Rana helped Abahani Limited complete a comprehensive 49-run win in Duckworth and Lewis method over Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in their ninth round match of the Dhaka Premier League on Monday.

Munim struck 74 off 40 balls, his second fifty-plus score in a row, and Nazmul made an unbeaten 65 off 42 balls, his first half century in the league, to take Abahani’s score to 181-4 in 20 overs after opting to bat first at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

Due to a rain interruption, Sk Jamal was set a revised target of 148 off 13 overs.

Sk Jamal fell well short of the target, reaching 98-8 after 13 overs.

The fate of the match permanently tilted towards Abahani after Mehedi removed Imrul Kayes (eight), Nurul Hasan (22) and Tanbir Haydar (one) in the second, fourth and sixth delivery of the fifth over respectively to reduce Sk Jamal to 43-5.

With the win, Abahani maintained their second position in the points-table with 14 points, the same as table-toppers Prime Bank Cricket Club who edged past them due to a better net run-rate.

Prime Bank also won on the day, beating Old DOHS Sports Club by 22 runs in BKSP.

Mohammedan Sporting Club, who were scheduled to hold a press conference on the situation surrounding their skipper Shakib Al Hasan’s sanction in the afternoon but cancelled it at the last moment, shared two points with Brothers Union as their match ended as a no result.

Batting first, Mohammedan posted 143-9 in 20 overs before rain washed out the rest of the game at BKSP.

In the other matches of the day, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club beat Legends of Rupganj by 14 runs, Shinepukur Cricket Club won against Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity by 15 runs in D/L method and Gazi Group Cricketers defeated Partex Sporting Club by nine wickets in D/L method.


Brief Scores

Abahani Limited v Sk Jamal DC

Abahnai 181-4 in 18.2 overs (Munim 74, Shanto 65 not out; Ebadot 1-20) v Sk Jamal 98-8 in 13 overs (Enamul 29 not out, Nurul 22; Rana 3-16)

Result: Abahani won by 49 runs


Partex Sporting Club v Gazi Group Cricketers

Partex 109-7 in 20 overs (Hasanuzzaman 26; Tareq 3-36) v Gazi Group 47-1 in 5.3 overs (Mahedi 33; Moin 1-20)

Result: Gazi Group won by 9 wickets (D/L method)


Prime Doleshwar SC v Legends of Rupganj

Doleshwar 118 all out in 19.5 overs (Fazle 29; Shahid 3-28) v Rupganj 104-8 in 20 overs (Al-Amin 30; Kamrul 3-15)

Result: Prime Doleshwar won by 14 runs


Shinepukur v Khelaghar

Shinepukur 154-6 in 20 overs (Sajjadul 48, Towhid 46; Khaled 3-20) v Khelaghar 110-7 in 16 overs (Sadikur 31; Mohor 2-13)

Result: Shinepukur won by 15 runs (D/L method)


Prime Bank CC v Old DOHS

Prime Bank 147-7 in 20 overs (Rony 54; Rakibul 2-14) v Old DOHS 125 all out in 20 overs (Mahmudul 26; Shoriful 3-23)

Result: Prime Bank won by 22 runs.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email