Munim storm blows away Prime Bank

Staff Correspondent | Published: 23:20, Jun 13,2021


Munim Shahriar

A blistering knock of 92 off 50 balls from Munim Shahriar powered Abahani Limited to a 30-run win in Duckworth and Lewis method over Prime Bank Cricket Club in their eighth round match of the Dhaka Premier League at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Sunday.

The win took Abahani on par with table-toppers Prime Bank in terms of points, as both teams now have 12 points, but the latter edged the former by the virtue of a better net run rate.

Abahani matched its own record of the highest team total in this season so far, posting 183-5 after opting to bat first.

Munim, who brought up his career best T20 score and also the highest innings in the league so far, got some support from Nazmul Hossain (30) and Mohamad Naim (29) to take Abahani to a daunting total.

Due to rain interruptions, Prime Bank was set a revised target of 174 off 19 overs, which they fell well short of.

Tamim Iqbal made 55 off 41 balls but did not receive any support from the other end as Prime Bank kept losing wickets at regular intervals and finished on 143-6.

At BKSP, Mohammedan Sporting Club, who took the field without skipper Shakib Al Hasan who is serving a three-match ban for his actions during the Abahani match, beat Old DOHS Cricket Club by five runs in the D/L method.

Batting first, Mohammedan scored 154-5 in 20 overs, with Irfan Sukkur hitting an unbeaten 68 off 42 balls.

In reply, Old DOHS were 115-4 after 16 overs when the rain came and later Mohammedan was declared the winners by five runs in D/L method.

In the other matches, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club beat Legends of Rupganj by seven runs and Brothers Union beat Shinepukur Cricket Club by one run, both games getting decided in D/L method.

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club defeated Partex Sporting Club by five wickets and Gazi Group Cricketers beat Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity with the same margin.

Brief Scores

Abahani Limited v Prime Bank CC

Abahani 183-3 in 20 overs (Munim 92 not out; Shoriful 2-38) v Prime Bank 143-6 in 19 overs (Tamim 55; Aminul 2-20, Tanzim Sakib 2-35)

Result: Abahani won by 30 runs (D/L method)


Mohammedan SC v Old DOHS SC

Mohammedan 154-5 in 20 overs (Irfan 68 not out; Rakibul 2-30) v Old DOHS 115-4 in 16 overs (Mahmudul 26; Shuvagata 2-25)

Result: Mohammedan won by 5 runs (D/L method)


Khelaghar SKS v Gazi Group Cricketers

Khelaghar 138-8 20 overs (Masum 59; Mominul 2-27) v Gazi Group 144-5 in 18.3 overs (Mahmudullah 58 not out; Mehidy 2-21)

Result: Gazi Group won by 5 wickets.


Legends of Rupganj v Sheikh Jamal DC

Rupganj 137-6 in 20 overs (Sabbir 41, Naeem 30 not out; Salauddin 2-23, Shykat 2-24) v SK Jamal 127-4 in 18 overs (Nurul 44 not out, Shykat 43; Hossain 2-28)

Result: Sk Jamal won by 7 runs (D/L method)


Shinepukur CC v Brothers Union

Shinepukur 150-3 in 20 overs (Sabbir 44, Towhid 44 not out; Naeem Jr 1-15) v Brothers 132-4 in 18 overs (Mizanur 79 not out; Tanvir 3-13)

Result: Brothers won by 1 run (D/L method)


Partex SC v Prime Doleshwar SC

Partex 134-7 in 20 overs (Hasanuzzaman 44; Farhad 2-18) v Doleshwar 136-5 in 19.2 overs (Fazle 71; Shahadat 2-20)

Result: Doleshwar won by 5 wickets

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email