Malaysia bans Bangladeshi, Pakistani, Nepalese, Lankan travellers

Staff Correspondent | Published: 07:10, May 06,2021 | Updated: 11:41, May 06,2021


After banning Indian nationals from entering Malaysia, the government of Malaysia extended the ban to cover travellers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka, BERNAMA reports.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said on Wednesday that the ban covered all categories of long-term social visit pass holders, business travellers and social visitors.

‘However, exemptions are given to holders of diplomatic and official passports as provided for under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations 1961,’ he said in a statement on the Movement Control Order, Conditional MCO and Recovery MCO.

He said this category of travellers could enter Malaysia subject to the existing Standard Operating Procedure.

The government had earlier banned visitors from India following an alarming spike in COVID-19 cases in that country.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email