371 UPs, 11 municipalities to go to polls on April 11

By-elections to Lakshmipur-2 on same day

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:19, Mar 04,2021


The Election Commission on Wednesday announced election schedules for 371 union parishads, 11 municipalities and the by-election for Lakshmipur-2 parliamentary constituency.

All the elections would be held on April 11, said EC secretary M Humayun Kabir Khandaker, adding that the last date for filing nomination papers is March 18 and the last date for withdrawing nomination is March 24.

The 371 UPs will go to polls in the first phase of the staggered election while 11 municipalities in the sixth phase, said Humayun.

He also said that the elections to the parliamentary constituency, the municipalities and 30 UPs would be held using electronic voting machines.

On February 22, Jatiya Sangsad announced the parliamentary constituency of Lakshimipur-2 vacant following the conviction of lawmaker Mohammad Shahid Islam in Kuwait.

Shahid Islam, an independent lawmaker, was sentenced to a four-year imprisonment by a Kuwait court on January 28 on charge of bribing officials there.

The court also fined him around 1.9 million Kuwaiti dinars.

The Kuwait government arrested Shahid Islam on June 6, 2020 and filed three cases against him on allegations of human trafficking, money laundering and bribing for securing job contracts for his companies.

He reportedly confessed in detail to providing huge sums of money and gifts to several Kuwaitis.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email