Directors’ Guild election Friday

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 22:06, Feb 23,2021


The election of Directors’ Guild is scheduled to be held on Friday at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy.

Around 400 members of the organisation will cast their votes in the upcoming election to elect candidates for 13 posts. Besides, candidates for eight posts have been elected uncontested.

Seasoned directors Ananta Hira, Dipu Hazra and Salauddin Lavlu will compete for the post of president while Pranesh Chandra Chowdhury, Faridul Hasan, Masum Aziz, Rafiqullah Salim and Shihab Sahin will compete for the posts of vice-presidents. Mostafa Kamal Raj and SM Kamruzzaman Sagor will compete for the post of general secretary.

Besides, Chayanika Chowdhury, Firoza Khan, Rakibul Hasan Chowdhury, Tuhin Hossain, Ferari Amit, SM Masud Karim, Maniruzaman Nahid,  Shahidunnabi, Mostafa Monon, SM Shahidul Islam, Anisul Haque, Sanjay Barua, Golam Moktadir, Mukti Mahmud and others will compete for different posts.

Sazzad Hossain Sony has been elected finance secretary and Abu Hayat Mahmud, Imraul Huda Rafat, Anisuzzaman Anis, Mahmudunnabi, Tariq Muhammad Hasan, Mostafizur Rahman Suman and Hafizur Rahman Suruj have been elected executive committee members uncontested.

Actor-director SM Mohsin, Naresh Bhuiyan and Masum Reza will carry out the charges of election commissioners.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email