Bangla Academy Literary Award announced

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 23:21, Jan 25,2021 | Updated: 23:24, Jan 25,2021


Bangla Academy arranges a press conference on Bangla Academy Literary Award on Monday. ­— press release photo

Ten litterateurs have been named the winners of the prestigious Bangla Academy Literary Award 2020 for their contribution to different branches of Bengali literature.

Bangla Academy director general Habibullah Siraji announced the names of the awardees at a press conference held on Monday at Munier Chowdhury Seminar Room of the academy.

This year’s winners are Muhammad Samad for poem, Imtiar Shamim for fiction, Begum Akhter Kamal for essay and research, Sureshranjon Basak for translation, Rabiul Alam for drama, Anzir Liton for juvenile literature, Sahida Begum for liberation war-based literature, Aparesh Bandyopadhyay for science fiction, Ferdousi Majumder for autobiography or travelogue and Muhammad Habibullah Pathan  for folklore.

The awards will be handed over at the inaugural ceremony of the Amar Ekushey Book fair, which is scheduled to be held on March 18.

Introduced in 1960, the Bangla Academy Literary Award is annually awarded to individuals for their contributions to the Bangla literature in different categories.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email