Nat’l Film Awards announced

Tarik best actor, Sunerah best actress, lifetime achievement for Sohel Rana, Suchanda

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 17:06, Dec 03,2020 | Updated: 16:51, Dec 05,2020


The information ministry on Thursday announced the names of the winners of National Film Award, the highest recognition for contribution to the film industry for the year 2019.

The ministry issued a gazette notification, announcing the National Film Award 2019 in 26 categories.

Actors Sohel Rana and Kohinur Akter Suchanda were jointly named for the lifetime achievement awards.

Veteran actor Tarik Anam Khan bagged the best actor in the principal role in the film Abar Basanta and the best supporting actor award went to Fazlur Rahman Babu for Phagun Haway.

Sunerah Binte Kamal bagged the best actress in the principal role for her acting in No Dorai. 

The best supporting actress award went to Nargis Akter for Maya: The Lost Mother.

The film No Dorai and Phagun Haway jointly bagged the best film award.

Nari Jiban has been awarded as the best short film and Bangladesh Film and Television Institute has been named the awardee.

Ja Chhilo Andhakare, a production of Bangladesh Television, has been awarded the best documentary film.

Taneem Rahman Angshu had been awarded the best director award for his film No Dorai.

Zahid Hasan was awarded the best villain for Sapludu.

The best child actor award jointly went to Naimur Rahman Apan for Kalo Meger Bhela and Afrin Akter for Jadi Ek Din.

Mostafizur Rahman Chowdhury Emon was adjudged the best music director for Maya: The Lost Mother.

Habibur Rahman bagged the best dance director award for Maner Mata Manush Pailam Na.

Mrinal Kanti Das was adjudged the best male singer for his song Tumi Chaia Dekho in the film Shuttle Train.

The best female singer award jointly went to singer Momtaz for her song Barir oi purba dhare in the film Maya: The Lost Mother and Fatema Tuz Zohra Oishee for her song Mayare, mayare in the film Maya: The Lost Mother.

The best lyricist award jointly went to poet Nirmalendu Goon for his song Ishtishane janma amar in the film Kalo Megher Bhela and Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury for his song Chal hey bandhu chal in the film Maya: The Lost Mother. 

Plabon Koreshi and Tanvir Tarek were jointly adjudged as giving the best tune for the songs respectively Barir oi purbadhare and Amar mayer achal for the film Maya: The Lost Mother.

The best story writer award went to Masud Pathik for Maya: The Lost Mother.

The best screenplay award went to Mahboob Rahman for No Dorai. The best art director award jointly went to Mohammad Rahmat Ullah Basu and Farid Ahmed for Maner Mata Manush Pailam Na.

The best cinematographer award went to Sumon Kumar Sarkar for No Dorai. The best sound director award went to Ripon Nath for No Dorai. The best costume designer award went to Khondokar Sajia Afrin for Phagun Haway.

The best editor award went to Junaed Ahmad Halim for Maya: The Lost Mother. Zakir Hossain Raju bagged the best dialogue award for Maner Mata Manush Pailam Na. The best makeup artiste award went to Md Raju for Maya: The Lost Mother.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email