61 municipalities to go to polls in 2nd phase on Jan 16

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:21, Dec 03,2020


The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the schedule for elections to 61 more municipalities setting the voting date for January 16.

Declaring the schedule for the second phase of the municipality polls, EC secretary Md Alamgir told reporters that of the 61 municipalities, elections to 29 will be held using electronic voting machines and 32 will be held using paper ballots.

He said that the last date for filing nomination papers is December 20 and the last date for withdrawing nomination is December 29.

In the first phase of the staggered municipal elections, 25 municipalities will go to polls on December 28.

Voting in all 25 municipalities will be held using EVMs.

EC secretary said that out of 329 municipalities in the country, elections to 259 municipalities would be held in five phases starting on December 28.

He said that the elections to rest of the municipalities will be held by May.

According to EC officials, 259 municipalities would be eligible for elections by May 2021 as the commission last held elections to the municipalities on December 30, 2015 and most of the elected mayors took oaths in January 2016.

According to the local government laws, elections should be held before 90 days of expiry of the tenure of the elected body of a municipality.

In the elections, mayor candidates will participate with party symbols as the polls to the posts will be partisan.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email