Goethe-Institut announces winners of Futures Beyond the Self

Culture Desk | Published: 23:14, Dec 02,2020 | Updated: 16:55, Dec 03,2020


Eleven individuals will receive Futures Beyond the Self award for 2020 initiated by Goethe-Institut Bangladesh, said a press release.

The names of the awardees were announced after an in-depth evaluation process led by a panel of jurors, who unanimously picked up projects that best fitted to the theme and context of Futures Beyond the Self.

The awardees are Priyanka Chowdhury (research), Arifur Rahman (short film), Karkhana Collective (music), Murshed Jahangir (visual art), Parsa Sanjana Sajid (research), Emran Sohel (visual art), Samsul Alam Helal (photography), Sumana Akter (visual art), Shahla Islam (short film), Tahia Farhin Haque (visual art) and Tehai Interdisciplinary Art Initiative (performance art), the release added.

The winners will receive up to 70,000 Taka as project grants to realise their respective projects.

The jurors comprised visual artist and trustee founder of Britto Arts Trust Tayeba Begum Lipi, executive director of Research Initiatives Bangladesh Meghna Guhathakurta, chief curator at Bengal arts programme of Bengal Foundation Tanzim Wahab and artist and curator of Kalakendra Wakilur Rahman, as well as two representatives from Goethe-Institut Bangladesh including its director Kirsten Hackenbroch and programme coordinator Mahmud Hassan.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email