By-elections to Dhaka-18, Sirajganj-1 on Nov 12

Staff Correspondent | Published: 15:14, Sep 28,2020 | Updated: 00:59, Sep 29,2020


The Election Commission on Monday announced the schedule for the by-elections to Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 parliamentary seats, fixing the voting date for November 12.

As per the schedule, the deadline for nomination submission is October 13, while they will be scrutinised on October 15, and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is October 22, EC secretary M Alamgir told reporters.

Sirajganj-1 constituency had fallen vacant after the death of former health minister and Awami League lawmaker Mohammed Nasim on June 13.

Dhaka-18 fell vacant following the death of former home minister and Awami League MP Sahara Khatun on July 9.

Earlier on September 3, the EC announced the schedule for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-polls fixing September 17 as the last date of filing nomination papers as the voting day for the two constituencies was fixed October 17.

The Dhaka-5 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker Habibur Rahman Mollah on May 6.

The Naogaon-6 constituency fell vacant following the death of AL lawmaker M Israfil Alam on July 27.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email