Ananya Shirsha Dash Awards 2019 given

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 22:56, Sep 12,2020


Ananya, a fortnightly magazine, holds an online awards ceremony of Ananya Shirsha Dash Awards 2019 on Friday.— Press Release

Ananya, a fortnightly magazine, on Friday handed over Ananya Shirsha Dosh Awards 2019 among the ten winners for their exceptional contributions to their respective areas.

The award giving ceremony was held following hybrid format due to COVID-19 outbreak. The programme was streamed live on the official Facebook page of Anannya Magazine at 8:00 pm on Friday.

The award recipients are Pratima Sangma (education), Shreemati Saha (social welfare), Hazera Begum (social work), Falguni Saha (inspiration), Dr Farida Zaman (fine arts), Sumona Sharmin (journalism), Israt Khan Mojlish (social organiser), Eti Khatun (sports), Nasima Aktar Nisha (entrepreneur) and F-Minor (music).

Education minister Dipu Moni attended the event as chief guest while Tasmima Hossain, editor of the fortnightly Ananya, presided over the ceremony, which was hosted by Farah Dolon.

Tasmima Hossain said, ‘Every year we organise a colourful awards ceremony programme but we are holding the ceremony online due to COVID-19 crisis this year.’

Dipu Moni said, ‘I am happy to attend this programme today. Ananya magazine has been honouring the women of Bangladesh every year for their outstanding contributions. I received this award in 2007. I thank them for arranging this event and wish them all the best.’

Ananya introduced the award in 1993. This year’s ceremony marked the 26th anniversary of this prestigious award event.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email