Six top Mirpur police officers transferred

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:42, Aug 09,2020 | Updated: 09:24, Aug 09,2020


Top officials of Dhaka Metropolitan Police Mirpur division were transferred on Saturday, 10 days after a blast inside Pallabi police station that injured five, including for police members.

Metropolitan police commissioner Shafiqul Islam transferred the six officers, including Mirpur division deputy commissioner Mostak Ahmed and Pallabi police station officer-in-charge Nazrul Islam.

There was allegation that mishandling of explosive at Pallabi police station on July 28 had caused the blast after police claimed to have arrested three goons in Mirpur Kalshi area.

The family of three arrested, however, alleged that they were picked up few days earlier.

The metropolitan police formed a probe committee over the incident and the transfer orders were issued amid the investigation.

DMP deputy commissioner for media Walid Hossain told New Age that it was a part of routine transfer and the investigation was yet to be completed.

After the investigation is done, it can be determined the3 responsibilities for the blast, Walid said.

According to the order, Mostak was made protective division deputy commissioner, additional deputy commissioner Mizanur Rahman was made ADC for operations at DMP headquarters, assistant commissioner Pallabi zone Firoz Kawsar was made assistant commissioner for welfare and sports.

Pallabi police station officer-in-charge Nazrul Islam was transferred to DMP prosecution division.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email