Hrithik, Alia invited to join Oscars voting body

Culture Desk | Published: 22:50, Jul 02,2020


Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt

Indian actors Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, among a total of 819 people, and if they accept the invitation they will have voting rights for this year’s Oscar’s awards, reports hindustantimes.com.

According to the report sharing the news, filmmaker Milap Zaveri tweeted, ‘Fabulous! Well deserved! Both @iHrithik and @aliaa08 are super talented super stars. They will be a great addition to the Academy.’

The 2020 list includes Ana De Armas, Brian Tyree Henry, Florence Pugh, Lakeith Stanfield, Beanie Feldstein, Jang Hye-Jin, Jo Yeo-Jeong, Park So-Dam and Constance Wu. Directors like Lulu Wang, Ari Aster, Terence Davies, and Matthew Vaughn are also on the list.

In a statement issued on Tuesday, Academy President David Rubin said, ‘The Academy is delighted to welcome these distinguished fellow travellers in the motion picture arts and sciences. We have always embraced extraordinary talent that reflects the rich variety of our global film community, and never more so than now.’

The official website claimed that the 2020 class is ‘45% women, 36% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 49% international from 68 countries. There are 75 Oscar nominees, including 15 winners, and five recipients of Scientific and Technical Awards.’

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email