MPs testing for COVID-19 to join Jatiya Sangsad session

Ahammad Foyez | Published: 01:34, Jun 22,2020


Lawmakers who are supposed to attend the next sittings of the ongoing Jatiya Sangsad budget session are testing for COVID-19 with the fear of the deadly virus infections rising among them after a good number of lawmakers have tested positive for the novel coronavirus recently.

The next sitting of the parliament session that started on June 10 with various precautions is scheduled to be held on Tuesday while at least two lawmakers who participated in the previous sitting were hospitalised as they tested positive for COVID-19.

A total of 60 lawmakers were tested on Saturday and Sunday, while all 20 lawmakers tested on Saturday got negative results, the reports of the rest 40 will be made available later, said officials of the parliament secretariat.

JS chief whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury told reporters that they requested the lawmakers set to join the next sitting to test for COVID-19 and they all cooperated.

He said that more 110 members of the parliament would be tested as at least four more sittings will be held in the budget session.

Earlier, about 100 officials and employees of the parliament secretariat tested positive for COVID-19 while at least 13 lawmakers, including 12 ruling Awami League lawmakers, tested positive for COVID-19.

The coronavirus infected MPs are — Faridpur-3 lawmaker Khandker Mosharraf Hossain, liberation war affairs minister and MP for Gazipur-1 AKM Mozammel Huq, Sirajganj-1 MP Mohammed Nasim, Rangpur-4 MP Tipu Munshi, Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs minister and Bandarban MP Bir Bahadur U Shwe Sing, Maulvibazar-4 MP M Abdus Shahid, Chittagong-8 MP Moslem Uddin Ahmed, Naogaon-2 MP Shahiduzzaman Sarker, Brahmanbaria-5 MP Mohammad Ebadul Karim, Chittagong-16 MP Mustafizur Rahman Chowdhury, Jamalpur-2 MP Faridul Hoque Khan Dulal, Narail-2 MP Masrafe Bin Mortaza and Sylhet-2 Gonoforum MP Mukabbir Khan.

Of them, Tipu Munshi and Mukabbir Khan participated in the previous sittings of the budget session.

Of the coronavirus infected lawmakers, Mohammed Nasim died after 12 days on June 12 in a hospital where he had been admitted with COVID-19 symptoms and was later tested positive.

Besides, at least three former MPs died of COVID-19.

Former Awami League MP for Bogura-Joypurhat reserved seat for women Kamrun Nahar Putul died on May 22, former AL MP for Dhaka’s Mohammadpur-Dhanmondi constituency Mockbul Hossain died at CMH on May 25 and Bangladesh Nationalist Party leader and former state minister for finance and planning and MP Anwarul Kabir Talukder died at CMH on June 14.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email