BSEC gets two new commissioners

Staff Correspondent | Published: 22:45, May 20,2020


The government on Wednesday appointed professors Mizanur Rahman and Shaikh Shamsuddin Ahmed as commissioners of the Bangladesh Securities and Exchange Commission for the next four years.

The Financial Institutions Division of the finance ministry issued a notice in this regard on the day.

Mizanur is a professor of the accounting and information systems department and Shamsuddin a professor of the finance department of Dhaka University. Prior to the appointment,  Shamsuddin served as a director of Janata Bank.

The government will appoint another commissioner to the commission soon after the Eid holidays.

Earlier on Sunday, the government appointed Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam, dean of Dhaka University’s business studies faculty, as chairman of the BSEC for four years.

The BSEC consists of a chairman and four commissioners.

The chairman and two commissioners were appointed over completion of the tenure of M Khairul Hossain, the longest serving chairman of the stock market regulator, on May 14.

Swapan Kumar Bala and Helal Uddin Nizami also completed their tenure as commissioners on April 16 and May 3 respectively.

Khondoker Kamaluzzaman has been serving as a BSEC commissioner since October 12, 2017.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email