One more UP chairman, two members suspended for government rice theft

Staff Correspondent | Published: 01:32, May 08,2020


The Local Government Division on Thursday suspended one more union parishad chairman and two members for their involvement in government rice theft.

The suspended ones are – local Awami League leader BM Nasir Uddin Swapan, chairman of Kuchaipotti union parishad under Gosairhat upazila in Shariatpur, and the UP’s two members – Md Mofazzel Byapari and Shamim Byapari.

A press release issued by the Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives said that the LGD in separate notices suspended the trio as irregularities in distributing rice under vulnerable group feeding porgramme for fishermen against them were proved during field investigation.

The notice also asked the three to explain through Shariatpur deputy commissioners in 10 days why they would not be removed permanently from their posts, said the release.

With the latest suspension, a total of 52 elected local government representatives — 19 UP chairmen, 31 UP members, one district council member and one municipal councilor— were suspended since the coronavirus outbreak in the country, the release said.

Besides, at least 60 people, many of them are ruling AL leaders, were arrested so far for rice theft.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email