56 businesspeople nominated for CIP status for 2016 performance

Staff Correspondent | Published at 10:27pm on August 11, 2018


A file photo shows two men holding a commercial important person (CIP) card. The government has nominated 56 businesspeople as commercial important persons for their contribution to the country’s overall economy through setting up industries, creating employment and increasing national income in 2016. — New Age photo

The government has nominated 56 businesspeople as commercial important persons for their contribution to the country’s overall economy through setting up industries, creating employment and increasing national income in 2016.
The industries ministry announced the names of the businesspeople, who will get CIP cards for one year, through a gazette notification on Tuesday.
According to the notification, the CIP card holders will enjoy various facilities including priority in seat reservation at government transports in air, road, rail and waterways and getting invitation at national events.
The CIPs will be able to use the cards as passes to entry at the Bangladesh secretariat and they will also get letter of introduction from the foreign ministry for getting visa.
The government finalised the names of 56 CIPs for the year 2016 under five categories including the names of eight industrialists as ex-officio.
The CIPs nominated as ex-officio are: Abdul Matlub Ahmad, the then president of Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industries, AK Azad, the then president of Bangladesh Chamber of Industries, Md Siddiqur Rahman, president of Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association, AKM Salim Osman, president of Bangladesh Knitwear Manufacturers and Exporters Association, Rupali Haque Chowdhury, the then president of Foreign Investors Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Selima Ahmad, president of Bangladesh Women Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Tapan Chowdhury, president of Bangladesh Textile Mills Association and Mirza Nurul Gani Shovon, president of National Association of Small and Cottage Industries of Bangladesh.
CIPs from the large scale industries are BSRM Steels chairman Ali Hossain Akbar Ali, Universal Jeans managing director Md Nasir Uddin, BRB Cable Industries managing director Parvez Rahman, ACI managing director Arif Dowla, Bangladesh Steel Re-rolling Mills Amir Ali Hossain, Jabber and Jobayer Fabrics managing director Abdus Samad Mohammad Rafiqul Islam Noman, Cosmopolitan Industries director Tanvir Ahmed, Abdul Monem Limited managing director Abdul Monem, Bangladesh Building Systems managing director Abu Noman Hawlader, Pahartali Textile and Hosiery Mills managing director Mirza Salman Ispahani, Fariha Knit Tex chairman Mohammad Mamun Bhuyan, MRS Industries managing director M Shamsur Rahman, Viyella Tex managing director KM Rezaul Hasnat, Shohaghpur Textile Mills chairman Abdul Hai Sarker, Pacific Jeans nominated director Syed Mohammed Tanvir, Square Food and Beverage managing director Anjan Chowdhury, Popular Pharmaceuticals managing director Mostafizur Rahman, Envoy Textiles chairman Kutubuddin Ahmed, Badsha Textile Mills managing director Badsha Mia, Meghna Cement Mills sponsor-director Sayem Sobhan, STS Holdings managing director Khondoker Monir Uddin, Navana Real Estate vice-chairman Sajedul Islam, Concord Real Estate chairman SM Kamal Uddin, GME Agro managing director Chowdhury Hassan Mahmud and Sheltech managing director Toufiq M Seraj.
CIPs selected under medium industry category are: RFL Plastic director Ahsan Khan Chowdhury, Promi Agro Foods chairman Enamul Hassan Khan, Oeko-Tex managing director Abdus Sobhan, Madhabdi Dyeing Finishing Mills managing director NizamUddin Bhuyan, Fu-Wang Foods managing director Arif Ahmed Chowdhury, Aqua Mineral Turpentine and Solvents Plant managing director Ramjul Seraj, Citadel Apparels Ltd managing director Md Mahidul Islam Khan, Jalalabad Frozen Foods managing director Abdul Jabbar Mollah, Bosumoti Didtribution managing director ZM Golam Nabi, Igloo Foods director ASM Moinuddin Monem, BRB Polymer managing director Md Mojibur Rahman, Mosharraf Spinning Mills managing director Mosharraf Hossain, Spectra Engineers chairman Khan M Aftab Uddin, Shanto Properties Jesmin Sultana and Building for Future Tanvirul Haque Probal.
CIPs selected under small industry category are: Kiam Metal Industries managing director Mizber Rahman, Fuji Inc Industries chairman Farhana Monem, RMM Leather Industries chairman Mohiuddin Ahmed Mahin, Runner Bricks vice-chairman Mozammel Hossain, Sabjiana deputy managing director Md Abu Shahriar and
QNS Container Services chairman Nurul Qayyum Khan.
Technomedia managing director Joshoda Jibon Debnath elected CIP under micro-industry category while AB Fashion Maker proprietor Sanaul Haque Babul elected under cottage industry.