Mayoral polls in Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barisal on July 30

Staff Correspondent | Updated at 12:19am on June 14, 2018

The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the mayoral polls schedules for the cities of Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barisal.
The EC earlier declared that the mayoral polls in the three cities would be held on July 30.
EC secretary M Helaluddin Ahmed told reporters that June 28 would be the last date for filing nomination papers by mayoral, councilor as well as for the women councilor aspirants from the wards reserved for them.
On July 1and 2, the nomination papers would be scrutinized, according to the polls schedule.
July 9 would be the last date for withdrawing nomination papers, it says.
The EC would receive aspirants’ appeals from July 3 to 5 and the issues would be resolved from July 6 to 8.
The EC secretary said that the regional election officers of Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barisal divisions had been appointed as the returning officers.
The EC appointed 10 assistant returning officers for Rajshahi and Barisal and nine for Sylhet, he said.
He said electronic voting would take place but
no decision had been taken in how many polling centres.
The tenure of the mayor of Rajshahi City ends on October 5.
The tenure of Barisal City’s mayor ends on October 23 and on October 8, the tenure of the mayor of the City of Sylhet is due to end.
The last mayoral polls in Rajshahi, Barisal and Sylhet were held on June 15, 2013.
The EC secretary said replying to a question that electronic voting would be held at six polling centres of Gazipur City rescheduled for June 26.