Five Ekushey Padak winning musicians felicitated

Cultural Correspondent | Updated at 11:31pm on April 03, 2018


The Ekushey Padak winning singers and musicians pose with the organisers of a felicitation programme held at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Monday. — Snigdha Zaman

Five singers and musicians, who won the prestigious Ekushey Padak this year in music category, were felicitated by Bangladesh Sangeet Sangathan Samannay Parishad on Monday at Music and Dance Centre of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy.
The programme featured handing over citations to the singers-musicians, discussion and cultural show.
The felicitated artistes are sitarist Matiul Haque Khan, singers Indramohan Rajbangshi and Khurshid Alam, and composers Sheikh Sadi Khan and Sujeo Shyam.
Eminent actor-director Syed Hasan Imam, recitation artiste Ashraful Alam and Bangladesh Sangeet Sangathan Samannay Parishad general secretary Bishwajit Roy spoke at the discussion session, presided over by BSSSP vice-president Mahmud Selim.
‘The Ekushey Padak winners have contributed a lot to the music industry and, we hope, they continue doing so’, said Syed Hasan Imam.
Felicitated artistes thanked BSSSP for the warm and cordial reception. ‘I am very happy to get such reception from Bangladesh Sangeet Sangathan Samannay Parishad’, singer Khurshid Alam said.
Following the discussion, felicitated singers Indramohan Rajbangshi, Khurshid Alam and some other singers rendered popular yesteryear and patriotic songs.
Indramohan Rajbangshi commenced the show rendering Ke ke jabi ayre, which used to be aired from the defunct Swadhin Bangla Betar Kendra in 1971. He also sang a folk song Mayer cheye boro keu nai.
Khurshid Alam enthralled audience with rendition of his two popular playbacks- Bandi pakhir moto and Mago ma.
Shahina Akhter Papiya rendered Hridayer ochena duti nadi, Sharifa Naznin presented Kal Sararat, Sanchita Dutta sang Ami bristite bheja rajanigandha naki and Oishika Anny rendered Eki madhuri chhoraye diyechho.