Junaed powers Brothers to win

Staff Correspondent | Updated at 12:06am on March 09, 2018

Former national stalwart Junaed Siddique struck 123 while Myshukur Rahaman made 96 runs as Brothers Union registered a comfortable 131-run victory over Kalabagan Krira Chakra in the eighth round match of Dhaka Premier League at Fatullah on Thursday.
Opener Shadman Islam smashed unbeaten 144 runs to take Shinepukur Cricket Club to second position in the league table as they notched an eight-wicket win against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club at Mirpur.
At BKSP, Legends of Rupganj continued their impressive form as Mohammad Naim and Naeem Islam’s fifties guided them to a six-wicket win over Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity, despite Robiul Islam’s blazing knock of 116.
Brothers v Kalabagan
Sent to bat first, Junaed and Myshukur added a 205-run stand for the second wicket after Brothers lost their opener Mizanur Rahman (eight) early in their innings.
Man-of-the-match Junaed made 123 off 111 balls with 16 fours and two sixes while Myshukur fell four short of his maiden List A hundred as he struck six fours and three sixes in his 121-ball innings.
Brothers middle order batsmen provided great support taking the side to 317-4 in their 50 overs.
Kalabagan lost wickets at regular intervals despite their skipper Muktar Ali scored an unbeaten 62 runs off 59 balls with six sixes and two fours.
Sohrawardi Shuvo claimed 3-39 while Shakhawat Hossain and Mehedi Hasan bagged two wickets each as Brothers bowled out Kalabagan for 186 runs in 45 overs.
Shinepukur v Sheikh Jamal
All-rounder Ziaur Rahman’s 79 off 87 balls and opener Hasanuzzaman’s 61 off 56 deliveries guided Sheikh Jamal to 262 runs in 49.5 overs after they elected to bat first.
Off-spinner Abdul Gaffar was impressive in his List A debut as he took 2-14 in seven overs in the match.
Shadman and Fardeen Hasan (38) gave Shinepukur a solid start scoring 95 runs in their opening stand.
Shadman then paired with Towhid Hridoy after the quick the dismissal of Uday Kaul (13), putting an unbeaten 121-run partnership to give their side their fifth victory in the ongoing DPL campaign.
Man-of-the-match Shadman stuck nine fours and two sixes in his 147-ball innings while Hridoy made unbeaten 50 off 56 deliveries to help their side to reach 263-2 in 48.3 overs.
Rupganj v Khelaghar
Opting to bat first, Khelaghar rode on Robiul’s 116 off 138 balls and Mahidul Islam’s 80 off 125 balls to score 259-4 in 50 overs against Rupganj.
Robiul struck 13 fours and one six in his innings while Mahidul smashed six fours and two sixes.
Naim and Naeem added 144 runs for the third wicket to ease the target for Rupganj who reached 262-4 in 46.3 overs and sealed their fifth victory in the league.
Man-of-the-match Naim made highest 82 off 96 balls while skipper Naeem contributed 70 off 64 balls.

Brief Scores
Brothers Union v Kalabagan CC
Brothers 317-4 in 50 overs (Junaed 123, Myshukur 96, Yasir 30 not out, Raman 22 not out; Mahmudul 1-39) v Kalabagan 186 in 45 overs (Muktar 62 not out,
Tasamul 44, Akbar 35; Suhrawordi 3-39, Rana 2-31, Shakhawat 2-31)
Result: Brothers Union won by 131 runs
M-o-M: Junaed Siddique (Brothers)
Khelaghar SKS v Legends of Rupganj
Khelaghar 259-4 in 50 overs (Robi 116, Mahidul 80; Asif 1-33) v Rupganj 262-4 in 46.3 overs (Naim 82, Naeem 70, Mazid 41, Salahuddin 35; Rafsan 2-35, Menaria 2-46)
Result: Legends of Rupganj won by 6 wickets
M-o-M: Mohammad Naim (Legends of Rupganj)
Sheikh Jamal DC v Shinepukur CC
Sk Jamal 262 in 49.5 overs (Ziaur 79, Hasanuzzaman 61, Sunny 28, Shykat 23; Gaffar 2-14, Shuvagata 2-48,
Sujon 2-57, Saifuddin 2-57) v Shinepukur 263-2 in 48.3 overs (Shadman 144 not out, Hridoy 50 not out,
Ony 38; Shohag 1-46)
Result: Shinepukur CC won by 8 wickets
Man of the match: Shadman Islam (Shinepukur CC)