Kings, MSC complete registration 

Staff Correspondent | Published: 22:47, Nov 19,2019


Bashundhara Kings players pose for a photograph during their players’ transfer registration for the forthcoming Bangladesh Premier League at the BFF House on Tuesday.— New Age photo

Four teams, including reigning Bangladesh Premier League champions Bashundhara Kings, completed their players transfer registration for the 12th Bangladesh Premier League a day before the deadline day at the Bangladesh Football Federation house on Tuesday.  

The other three teams who completed their players transfer registration are -- Mohammedan Sporting Club, Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra and newly-promoted Bangladesh Police FC.

Kings came at the BFF with most colorful rally accompanied by more than 500 supporters and submitted their list of 35 players.

The reigning champions formed a team with 31 local and four foreign players, including two newly recruits – Argentine defender Nicolas Delmonte and Tajikistan midfielder Akhtam Nazarov.

Kings retained their two previous foreign recruits -- Costa Rican World Cupper Daniel Colindres and Kyrgyzstan midfielder Bakhtiyar Duyshobekov.

Mohammedan Sporting Club registered 30 players, including 25 local and five foreign players with 20 new faces, for the 13-team top-tier league of the country.

The traditional Black and White outfit retained its 10 players from the the previous edition, including two foreign players -- Malian forward Souleymane Diabate and Japanese midfielder Uryu Nagata.

Diabate scored highest eight goal for Mohammedan in the last edition while Nagata scored two.

Mohammedan, who finished ninth in the last edition, recruited three foreign players -- defender Ousmane Berthe of Mali, Nigerian defender Stanley Onyekachi Amadi and midfielder Ugochukwu Obi Moneke.

Ousmane last played for Al Muaither SC of Qatar while Amadi played for New Youngs FC of Sri Lanka and Moneke for Ministry for National Defence FC of Cambodia.

Last edition’s third place finishers Sheikh Russell KC registered 29 players, with five foreigners, including two new foreign faces – East Timor forward Pedro Herique Cortes Oliveria Gois and Australian midfielder Christopher Herd.  

Sheikh Russell kept Uzbekistan Forward Aazizov Alisher, Nigerian forward Rapahel Odyin Onrwerebe and Nigerian defender Alison Ndukaku for the second time.

Police FC were led by its president and Rapid Action Battalion director general Benazir Ahmed and team manager Sheikh Maruf Hasan, additional DIG of police. They were accompanied by their foreign coach Nikola Vitorovic of Serbia.

Among the 35 players, Police FC registered three foreign players, 14 players from police force and the other 18 players from different local club.

Police FC, who became champions in the championship league, roped in Serbian striker Luka Rotkovic, forward Sydney Rivera of Puerto Rico and a Swedish-born Bangladeshi striker Joseph Nur Rahman for their BPL team.

Earlier on Sunday, fourth placed Saif Sporting Club and 10th placed Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society completed their players’ registration. Saif registered 30 players with three foreign players while Rahmatganj with 17 local players.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email