UN Rohingya Resolution

HRW censures China, Russia, 7 other nations

Diplomatic Correspondent | Published: 01:30, Nov 18,2019


Human Rights Watch on Sunday criticised nine countries for their failure in supporting adaptation of a resolution at the UN on the situation of human rights of Rohingya people in Myanmar.

‘Very few governments are callous enough to vote against protecting Rohingya Muslims from Myanmar army crimes against humanity,’ HRW executive director Kenneth Roth said in a tweet on Sunday.

The nine countries were China, Russia, Cambodia, Philippines, Vietnam, Lao PDR, Belarus, Zimbabwe and Myanmar, according to UN website. 

The UN General Assembly adopted the resolution on November 14 asking the Myanmar authorities to take steps to create environment conducive for repatriation of Rohingya people and ensuring accountability of the persons involved in atrocity crimes committed to the community in Rakhine.

Thirty countries abstained from supporting the resolution. These countries were India, Japan, Bhutan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Singapore, DPR Korea, Timor Leste, Fiji, Venezuela, Serbia, Nauru, Bolivia, Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada, Guinea Bissau, Tonga, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Burundi, Cameroon, Equatorial Guniea, Eretria, Cameroon, Dominica, St Vincent, Papua New Guinea, Palau and Zambia.

Some 102 countries, including US, Canada, Australia, Mexico, Switzerland, New Zealand, co-sponsored the resolution while 140 voted for adopting it at the UNGA.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email