Nirmal, Afzal made Swechchhasebak League president, GS

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:24, Nov 17,2019


Nirmal and Afzalur

Nirmal Ranjan Guha and Afzalur Rahman Babu were announced to be Bangladesh Swechchhasebak League’s president and its general secretary respectively for the next three years on Saturday.

Both of them were vice-presidents of the same organisation previously.

Bangladesh Awami League’s general secretary Obaidul Quader announced the names of the new leaders at the Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh in the capital.

The new president and the new general secretary would form a fully-fledged committee of the Awami League’s affiliated body within next seven days, Quader said during his announcement at the end of the third national council of Swechchhasebak League.

Awami League’s president Sheikh Hasina, also the prime minister, inaugurated the council earlier at Suhrawardy Udyan. The committees of Swechchhasebak League’s Dhaka city north and south units were also announced at the same venue.

Eshak Mia and Anisur Rahman were made president and secretary for the Dhaka north’s unit while Kamrul Hasan and Tarique Sayeed were made president and secretary for the Dhaka south’s unit.

Swechchhasebak League was founded in 1994 with Makbul Hossain as convenor and Habibur Rahman Habib as joint convenor. Habib joined Bangladesh Nationalist Party later.

The organisation’s first council in 2003 made AFM Bahauddin Nasim president and Pankaj Devnath general secretary while the second council in 2012 made Molla Md Abu Kawsar president without replacing Pankaj Debnath as general secretary.

Recently, Molla Kawsar was removed from his post for his alleged involvement in corruption and casino business. Pankaj Debnath, also a lawmaker, was also asked not to attend the council for his alleged controversial activities.

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email