Eight-wicket Ruyel steals show

Staff Correspondent | Published: 22:58, Nov 16,2019


Sylhet division pacer Ruyel Miah shows the ball after clinching 8-26 against Chattogram division on the opening day of their NCL sixth round match in Bogura on Saturday. — BCB photo

Fazle Mahmud, Talibur Rahman and Suhrawordi Shuvo struck centuries for their respective divisional teams, but Sylhet division pacer Ruyel Miah stole the show with an eight-wicket haul on the opening day of the National cricket League sixth and final round on Saturday.

In the tier-one title deciding match in Khulna, Dhaka division rode on Talibur’s 110 and fifties from Abdul Mazid (66) and Shuvagata Hom (56 not out) to reach 273-7 in their first innings while Khulna division pacer Abdul Halim took 5-27.

In the tier-two match in Bogura, Ruyel claimed 8-26, the best bowling figure in this year’s NCL, as Sylhet bundled out Chattogram division for just 106 in the first innings before reaching 186-5 at stumps.

In the other tier-one match, Suhrawordi made 105 runs for Rangpur division but Delwar Hossain and Mohor Sheikh shared seven-wicket for Rajshahi division to restrict Rangpur to 263-8 in their first innings.

Tier-two bottom placed team Barishal division reached 338-6 in their first innings against Dhaka Metro, thanks to Mahmud’s rollicking 141 off 168 balls in Dhaka.

Dhaka v Khulna

Dhaka were reduced to 2-2 inside six overs with Halim sending back Uttam Sarker and Shafiul Hayet for a duck after Khulna asked them to bat first.

Talibur consolidated the innings with a 129 and 74-run partnerships for the fourth and fifth wicket with Mazid and Shuvagata respectively to take their score to 250-4.

Halim then dismissed Talibur and Arafat Sunny (0) in the same over and Ziaur Rahman removed Mahbubul Alam (0) to stage a late comeback for Khulna.

Sylhet v Chattogram

Sylhet’s 18-year old pacer Ruyel ransacked Chattogram batting line-up with an eight-wicket haul after they opted to bowl first.

Ruyel took two of the first four Chattogram wickets and then went on rampage to claim the remaining six wickets in a 6.1-over spell and bowl out Chattogram in just 35.1 overs.

Sylhet finished the day with an 80-run lead after Amite Hasan and Alok Kapali made 55 and 41 respectively while  Ifran Hossain took 4-76.

Rangpur v Rajshahi

Sent to bat, Rangpur lost both openers inside four overs before Suhrawordi and Naeem Islam (40) steadied their innings with a 76-run third wicket stand.

Rangpur again lost two quick wickets to be reduced to 94-4 but Suhrawordi again came to the rescue forming a 111-run fifth wicket stand with Ariful.

Mohor(3-53) removed Ariful and Delwar(4-55) dismissed Sohrawordi and Dhiman Ghosh (nine) to peg back Rangpur before stumps.

Metro v Barishal

Batting first, Barishal reached 95-2 in the first session but lost two wickets inside three overs of the post-lunch session with, Asif Hasan claiming both, to be reduced to 101-4.

Mahmud began his counterattack, hitting 10 fours and eight sixes, to take Barishal’s score to 283-6 with the assistance of Sohag Gazi (23) and Salman Hossain (69).

Al-Amin dismissed Mahmud but Salman and Moin Khan (38) took Barishal’s score over 300 runs.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email