BPL teams get fresh name

Staff Correspondent | Published: 22:37, Nov 16,2019


Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan unveils the logo of the forthcoming Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 competition at a city hotel on Saturday. — New Age photo

The seven participating teams of the Bangladesh Premier League were given fresh names ahead of the upcoming special edition as the Bangladesh Cricket Board unveiled the logo of the Twenty20 competition at a city hotel on Saturday.

The participating teams are - Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon, Premier Bank Khulna Tigers, Rajshahi Royals, Rangpur Rangers, Sylhet Thunder, Cumilla Warriors and Chattogram Challengers.

Jamuna Bank and Premier Bank will be the sponsors of Dhaka and Khulna teams respectively while Akhtar Furnishers will work as benefactors for Chattogram team.

Sylhet team will be sponsored by Jivani Footwear Company while IPC has become the sponsors for Rajshahi team.

Remaining two teams Rangpur and Cumilla will be bankrolled by Bangladesh Cricket Board itself.

The seven teams will have the opportunity to pick the players for their respective teams today from a players’ draft event, which will start at 6:00pm at a city hotel.

A total of 181 Bangladeshi players and 439 overseas players have registered for the players’ draft event.

Last year a total of 186 Bangladeshi players and 365 overseas players were listed in the players’ draft event.

Mashrafee bin Murtaza, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah and Tamim Iqbal are named in Grade A+ category, with a price tag of Tk 50 lakh each.

Last year, the players in Grade A+ category received Tk 75 lakh each.

The remaining players were bracketed in five categories. However, the payment for Grade A, B, C, D and E remained unchanged from last year.

Nine players, including Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar and Mehedi Hasan are in Grade A with a price tag of Tk 25 lakh while 24 players including Sabbir Rahman, Rubel Hossain and Afif Hossain are in Grade B with a price tag of Tk 18 lakh.

The Grade C, D and E players will get Tk 12 lakh, Tk 8 lakh and Tk 5 lakh each respectively.

Although more number of foreign players was listed for the draft, players like AB de Villiers, Steve Smith, David Warner, were kept outside the process. At least three Indian players were named in the draft.

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate the special edition Bangabandhu BPL on December 8 while the tournament will get underway on December 11, three days after the opening ceremony.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email