Bangladesh v India -2nd Twenty20 International

Moments of the match

Published: 23:03, Nov 07,2019

 
 

Bangladesh’ Liton Das (L) runs as India’s Rishabh Pant receives a throw during their second T20 international match at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Thursday. — AFP photo

Pant’s blunder

Indian wicketkeeper Rishab Pant’s troubled time behind the wickets continued in their second Twenty20 against Bangladesh, when he made a comical error to give Liton Das a second life. In the third ball of the sixth over, Liton charged a tossed up delivery off leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal but missed it completely. Pant collected the ball and broke the stumps before Liton could get back to the crease. But the replay showed that Pant had a part of his glove in front of the stumps while collecting the ball, which meant that despite being short of his ground Liton survived and the ball was adjudged as a no-ball. Liton then added salt to the wound with consecutive boundaries in the next two balls.

 

Liton runs out of luck

Bangladesh opener Liton Das was given two lives by the Indian fielders with two fielding mishaps, but the batter couldn’t make it count, getting dismissed while going for a single that wasn’t there. Liton tried to work a Chahal delivery for a single in the second ball of the eighth over but the ball hit the top of his bat before ricocheting off wicketkeeper Pant’s chest to land in front of the batsman. Liton lost sight of the ball and went for a single. Pant raced to the ball and completed a direct hit while Liton was stranded at the middle of the pitch with Naim staying put at the non-strikers end.

 

Soumya runs one short

In the ninth over off the innings, a slight error from Soumya Sarkar in running between the wickets cost Mohammad Naim and Bangladesh a single run. Naim chipped Washington Sundar over extra-cover in the fifth ball of the over and the batsmen changed strike twice to complete two runs. But the on-field umpire spotted that Soumya had in fact failed to place his bat inside the crease while taking the first-run, making their first run invalid. Naim was awarded one run and Soumya took the strike for the next ball.  

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email

Advertisement

images

 

Advertisement

images