662 to get income tax awards

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Nov 07,2019


A file photo shows a crest for tax card for a highest taxpayer. The National Board of Revenue will award 662 individual and corporate taxpayers tax card, crest and certificate for paying the highest amount of income tax in different categories in last fiscal year (2018-2019).— New Age photo

The National Board of Revenue will award 662 individual and corporate taxpayers tax card, crest and certificate for paying the highest amount of income tax in different categories in last fiscal year (2018-2019).

Of them, 141 taxpayers from individual and company categories will be awarded tax card and crest for paying the highest amount of income tax at the national level in the fiscal year.

The rest 521 individuals will receive crest and certificate for payment of income tax for long time and the highest amount in the year at district and city corporation levels.

The NBR on Wednesday issued two gazette notifications containing the names of selected taxpayers in all categories.

Officials of the revenue board said that the taxpayers selected at the national level would be awarded at a programme to be held in Dhaka on November 13 while the highest and long-time taxpayers in districts and city corporations will be honoured at programmes to be held at divisional headquarters.

Of the national-level highest taxpayers, 74 will get the award under individual category, 55 under company category and 10 under other categories, they said.

They said that the NBR selected three highest taxpayers, two long-time taxpayers, one female and one young taxpayer aged below 40 years from each of the districts and city corporations.

The highest tax cardholders are entitled to enjoy for one year a number of privileges including priority while reserving seats in public transports, public hospitals, access to VIP lounges at the airports and invitation to various national functions.

Like the previous years, most of the leading and well-known businesspeople and firms of the country remained out of the list due to various reasons including having unpaid income tax, customs duty and value-added tax.

According to the National Tax Card Policy-2010 (amended), individual and corporate taxpayers having unsettled disputes which are reopened under provision 93 of the Income Tax Ordinance-1984 are also not considered for the award.

Loan defaulters and borrowers who rescheduled their loans in the fiscal year under consideration were also not eligible for the award, it said.

The names of the highest taxpayers at the national level include:

Individual category:

Senior citizen: Golam Dastagir Gazi, Khondker Badrul Hasan, Anita Chowdhury, Alihussain Akberali and Dr Mustafizur Rahman.

War-wounded freedom fighter: Abu Saleh Mohammad Nasim, SM Abdul Wahab and Al Mamun Sarker.

Physically challenged: Sukarno Ghosh, Akram Mahmud and Md Mamunur Rashid.

Female: Rubayat Farzana Hossain, Laila Hossain, Hosne Ara Hossain, Ratna Patra and Mahmuda Ali Sikdar.

Individual (aged below 40): Nafis Sikder, Gazi Golam Mortuza, Md Mehedi Hassan, Md Abu Raihan Rubel and Md Zulfikar Hossain Masud Rana.

Businessperson: Md Kaus Mia, Syed Abul Hossain, Kamrul Ashraf Khan, Mohammad Kamal and Md Aslam Serniabath.

Salaried person: Mohammad Yusuf, Khwaja Tajmahal, MA Haider Hossain, Abdul Muktadir and Faridur Reza.

Doctor: AKM Fazlul Haque, Pran Gopal Datta, NAM Momenuzzaman, Nargis Fatema and Shamsul Arefin.

Journalist: Mahfuz Anam, Mohammad Abdul Malek, Matiur Rahman, Shaikh Siraj and Monjurul Ahsan Bulbul.

Lawyer: Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh, Mahbubey Alam, Nihad Kabir, Abu Mohammad Amin Uddin and Rafique-Ul Haque.

Engineer: Rezaul Karim, Shah Mohammad Hannan and SM Abu Sufian.

Architect: Mohammad Faiz Ullah, Md Rafiq Azam and Mohammad Golam Azam Sizar.

Accountant: Md Moktar Hossain, Mohammad Monjurul Alam and Mohammad Faruque.

New taxpayer: Md Motiur Rahman, Syeda Jamila Begum, Md Mirazul Islam, Hosne Nuzhat, Nargis Akter, Mia Md Rezuan Kabir and Sonia Sarha Pinki.

Athlete: Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Actor/actress: Anisul Islam Hiru, Farida Akter Babita and Sakib Khan Rana.

Singer: Tahsan Rahman Khan, SD Rubel and Momtaj Begum.

Others: Shawkat Ali Chowdhury, Akter Matin Chowdury and Nazrul Islam Mazumdar.


Banking: Islami Bank Bangladesh, Standard Chartered Bank, National Bank, HSBC, BRAC Bank, Pubali Bank, Southeast Bank and United Commercial Bank.

Non-bank financial institution: Infrastructure Development Company Ltd, Investment Corporation of Bangladesh, IDLC Finance Ltd and Bangladesh Infrastructure Finance Fund Ltd.

Telecommunications: Grameenphone Ltd.

Engineering: Bangladesh Machine Tools Factory Ltd, Khulna Shipyard Ltd and BSRM Steels Ltd.

Food and Allied: Nestle Bangladesh Ltd, Olympic Industries Ltd and Square Food and Beverage Ltd.

Energy: Titas Gas Transmission and Distribution Company, Meghna Petroleum Ltd and Gas Transmission Company Ltd.

Jute: Akij Jute Mills Ltd, Janata Jute Mills Ltd and Super Jute Mills Ltd.

Spinning and textile: Coats Bangladesh Ltd, Badsha Textiles Ltd, ACS Textiles Bangladesh Ltd, Noman Terry Towel Mills Ltd, Apex Textile Printing Mills Ltd, Envoy Textiles Ltd and Fakhruddin Textile Mills Ltd.

Pharmaceuticals and chemicals: Unilever Bangladesh Ltd, Square Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Incepta Pharmaceuticals Ltd and Renata Ltd.

Print and electronic media: Media Star Ltd, East West Media Group Ltd, Transcraft Ltd and Media World Ltd.

Real estate: Rangs Properties Ltd, Equity Properties Management Ltd and Bay Developments Ltd.

RMG: Youngone Hi-tech Sportswear Industries Ltd, Rifat Garments Ltd, GMS Composite Knitting Industries Ltd, Ha-Meem Denim Ltd, That’s It Sportswear Ltd, Pacific Jeans Ltd and Four H Fashions Ltd.

Leather: Bata Shoe Company BD Ltd, Apex Footwear Ltd and Atlas Footwear Ltd.

Others: British American Tobacco Bangladesh, American Life Insurance Company, Sadharan Bima Corporation and Toma Construction and Co Ltd.

Other category: Messer’s SN Corporation, Messer’s ASBS, Messer’s Saleh Ahmad, Walton Plaza, Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh, Mongla Cement Factory, East West University, ASA, Buro Bangladesh and RS Trading.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email