Tarek Mahmud scoops BSPA Award

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Oct 06,2019


Winners of the Max Bangladesh Sports Press Association Night 2019 pose for a photograph with chief guest and state minister for youth and sports Zahid Ahsan Russel at a city hotel on Saturday.— Courtesy photo

Max Bangladesh Sports Press Association Night 2019 was held amid festivity on Saturday with all the known faces of Bangladesh’s sports journalism present under one roof.

Excellence in Bangladesh’s sports journalism was recognised in the event as awards were distributed amongst the winner, runner-up and second runner-up in six different categories.  Prothom Alo sports editor Tarek Mahmud was named the sports journalist of the year 2018 and awarded the ‘Toufiq Aziz Khan Trophy’ while Kaler Kantho’s Masud Parvez won the ‘Ataur Haque Mollick Trophy’ for the best interview of the year.

Mahmud also won the ‘Bodiuzzaman Trophy’ for the Exclusive report of the year and Channel 24’s Shadman Sakib was awarded the ‘Ronojit Bishash Trophy’ for the best feature report.

The other recipients who topped their respective categories were Kaler Kantho’s Rahenur Islam (Best Series Report) and Daily Star’s Firoz Ahmed (Best Photographer).

Veteran sports journalists Al Amin and Talha bin Nazrul were awarded the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award.’ State minister for youth and sports Zahid Ahsan Russel was the chief guest of the event and Max Group Chairman Engineer Ghulam Mohammad Alomgir was present as the special guest.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email