3-day strike of CNG-run autos from Oct 15

Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:00, Oct 03,2019 | Updated: 23:52, Oct 02,2019


A section of compressed natural gas driven auto-rickshaw owners and workers on Wednesday threatened to go on a three-day strike in Dhaka from October 15 demanding increase in fare rate.

They also demanded an end to the movement of illegal auto-rickshaws in Dhaka metropolitan areas, said a release of Dhaka Mahanagari CNG Auto-Rickshaw Malik-Sramik Sangram Parishad.

Owners and workers of CNG-run autos launched the platform on the day and placed a nine-point charter of demands at a press conference at the National Press Club in Dhaka.

The platform convener Md Barkat Ullah Bhulu said they demand increasing the fare rate at Tk 80 for first two kilometres from existing Tk 40, Tk 30 for each next kilometre from existing Tk 12, Tk 4 waiting charge per minute from Tk 2 and increase in the daily deposit for owners and filing no cases regarding meters till increase of daily deposit.

They further demanded an end to the movement of auto-rickshaws from outside Dhaka particularly from Gazipur, Narsingdi, Narayanganj and Munshiganj, commercial use of private CNG autos, harassment by police, and illegal vehicles running under ridesharing services.

The platform also demanded filing no cases over parking without providing parking spaces, filing no case based on surveillance videos, mandatory uniform for drivers and stickers for vehicles under ridesharing services, cancellation of re-testing system during the renewal of driving licences and all underhand dealings in the process, active role of police to stop hijacking and other crimes, announce auto-rickshaw as an industry, and put an end to the harassment by Bangladesh Road Transport Authority.

If the demands were not met, they would enforce a 72-hour strike on October 15-17, the leaders said.

They would also form human chain in Dhaka on October 6 and hold a rally on October 13 in Dhaka and meetings across the country between October 7 and October 12.

The parishad member secretary Shakhawat Hossain Dulal and its members ATM Najmul Hasan, Motalab Hossain, Mamunur Rashid Pintu, Abdul Karim, Md Harun Ur Rashid and Mosharraf Hossian attended the press conference.

More about:

Want stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up to exclusive daily email